so, I wish to start my platinum game over, but I want to keep my BF re

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Tac 21, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    is their, a possible way to do that? it seems SO easy to hack a game save these days I don't really care about anything else (not off hand anyway)

    how can I do this?
     


  2. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    The title cut off, can you please restate the question because I do not quite understand.

    If, as I suspect, you want to start a new game and keep the old, you will need a flashcart. Just grab another rom (ASSUMING YOU BOUGHT THE GAME BEFOREHAND), name it something different from the original .nds file, and run the second one for the new file. If, on the other hand, you are trying to do this with the official gamecart, there is no way, that I know of, to do it.

    Of course, I still have no idea what your problem is, and that's just a guess, but if you would restate the question, I would be happy to come to your aid again [​IMG]!
     
  3. .Darky

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    No, you can't keep your Battle Frontier records if you start a new game.
     
  4. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    this is for pokemon platinum- I wish yo keep some records while starting a new game .


    what? why can't I?you mean yo tell me that we can do SO MUCH with the new pokemon games yet we can't save pokedex and battle frontier records??
     
  5. jaydude

    Newcomer jaydude Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    If its on a flash cart just create a secondary new save file and switch back when you wanna use BF.
     
  6. Shinryuji

    Member Shinryuji GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    The heavens.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Umm yeah... Because you're starting a NEW GAME. Surely you understand that by creating a new game you are creating a brand new character right? So what's the point in giving a new character someone elses records?
    Just make a new save on the rom.
     
  7. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    Can't you ripe the save off with NDS Wi-Fi Backup Tool and then use Pokesav to make a AR code with the BF records and then use NitroHax to hack it back in?
     
  8. Shinryuji

    Member Shinryuji GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Location:
    The heavens.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You might be able to do that, presumably, but you would need the AR codes, and I have absolutely no idea what they are. Or if they exist.
    So as far as I know, it's not possible.
     
  9. harryn27

    Newcomer harryn27 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you are using a flashcard just download the usa or europe one witch ever one you dont have and start a new game on that one but keep the other one with the (BF) on your flashcard so you can go back to it
     
  10. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    I said that he can use Pokesav to make the AR code. It has that function.
     
  11. sharpy1

    Newcomer sharpy1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As has already been suggested, you just need to create a new .sav. The simplest way to do this is to change the name of the ROM such that when you start it up again, it will create a new .sav corresponding to the new name.
    Then, just switch between the save files by changing the name of the ROM to fit the save file that you wish to use.
    Of course, this is assuming you're using a flash cart.
     
  12. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, as I thought, how eaxctly could I MAKE the AR code though?

    and what about the battle frontier?
     
  13. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    Download Pokesav and open up your save with it. Then go to the option that reads "EXPORT AR DS CODE." Choose the Battle Frontier record option and save it. Go to your flashcart and then run Nitrohax (put the .xml created into the root). Turn on the code, insert retail cart, and start the game. Activate the code and your BF records should be the same as before. Now sure how it would react if you had already started the new game and didn't have the frontier pass yet though.
     
  14. Zerousen

    Member Zerousen 【=◈︿◈=】

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,948
    Country:
    United States
    well,DUH. if you start a NEW GAME,then it will erase ALL DATA and you will have to start ALL OVER. but its is possible to hack a new save and edit your records,not save,but edit.
     
  15. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    I know Haseo, this is what I'm talking about.

    Choose the Battle Frontier record option and save it.


    I can't seem to find that option. and also I'm using an R4 so it is alittle easier. how do I incroperate?
     
  16. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    where is the battle records editor for the frontier??
     
  17. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    what am I suuposte to do to keep those records- I KNOW its possible- because everyone finds it SOO easy to hack this generation, but I'm not sure how.
     
  18. AZBigbear

    Newcomer AZBigbear Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    So you claim its sooo easy to hack this game, yet you dont know how. The only reason its so easy to "hack" this game is with PokeSav and that program does not do what you want it to do. So no for you its not easy to hack this game because what you want to do will actually require you to hack it and not modify the files with Pokesav.
     
  19. Tac 21
    OP

    Member Tac 21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Canada
    then how can pokesav do ALLL of these things, but not able to do something like keeping records?
     
  20. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    Ask the creator.
     

Share This Page