So, I want to softmod my friend's Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by afif95, Dec 26, 2008.

Dec 26, 2008
  1. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    So you see, my friend desperately wants to have his Wii back to normal, and english language too. He has a semi-brick.....

    But here's the problem, I believe his Wii is Japanese, but then again, I'm afraid his Wii is like mine, Japanese region converted to US region. And well, mine was also Japanese language, until I took a look on the Language Settings, english language since.

    His Wii isn't softmodded, but hardmodded. I was thinking about fixing the semi-brick, then installing starfall (given that his firmware is 3.2), then using WAD Manager to install Gecko OS and Gamma 002 fix channels, all through Twilight Hack.

    I don't know the details, but he said he ran the update from the game Pokemon Battle Revolution, and another few games as well. So yeah.....

    What do you recommend? I was thinking about scanning his firmware (What region, not the number) through ARC, and start from there.

    And no, I don't think I'll install HBC for him till he has an SD Card..... I think it'll be a long time before he could get an SD Card due to his strict parents.

    Also, I've these questions:
    1)Will Starfall hacks go away if I remove the .dol from the root of the sd card?
    2)Any way to remove semi-brick through the apps that can be run through Twilight Hack?
    3)Will changing the language of the Wii using ARC do any harm?

    Thanks in advance....
     
  2. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Anyone???

    And well, his Twilight Princess is NTSC, so I know where to begin.
     
  3. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    What app are you using to change the japanise wii's region?
     
  4. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    AnyRegion Changer to see what region is his Wii.


    I won't change the region, just the language, I suppose.

    Anyway, I might as well go down the install HBC road, run my apps from there, and then uninstall HBC
     
  5. charlieawesome

    Newcomer charlieawesome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Australia
    Strict parents? SD cards are like $10 lol, more like retarded parents
     
  6. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Nah, here it costs a plenty (RM90+).

    Anyway, he won't be touching the Wii again after the end year holidays, and I doubt he'll get the SD Card soon.
     
  7. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Use frimware downgraded by waniko but you need to install:
    CIOS_fix.wad
    IOS16-64-production.wad
    But you need a custom wadmanager but you can find it in the oct 23 update fix thread.
    But install IOS16-64-production.wad before installing CIOS_fix.wad than use frimware downgrader and install 3.2U and it will ask for a patch than click A than click the home button 3 times when it's done the patch. [​IMG]
     
  8. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    True, but I need to know if that fixes the semi-brick as well..... Oh, and I would also like to do this without a WiFi.

    I think his WiFi connection is broken.
     
  9. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    It fixes the semi brick.
    Just use a nintendo USB wifi addapter
     
  10. afif95
    OP

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Ah, okie dokie, will follow EoC's guide and start from there.

    Now to confirm that his WiFi ain't broken... >__>
     

Share This Page