So, I think I broke my Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by blizeH, Aug 24, 2010.

Aug 24, 2010

So, I think I broke my Wii by blizeH at 7:56 PM (3,721 Views / 0 Likes) 28 replies

  1. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys,

    I updated my homebrew channel as per the instructions on the screen, this then screwed up my boot settings and I just got a black screen.

    I was very kindly given lots of great advice in this thread, of which I tried various things - and my Wii booted okay again then!

    But now when I load USB Loader GX, no games work. None at all. Whether it's through the newly installed USB Loader GX channel, or via the regular Homebrew Channel, no games work!

    Three I tried just went to a black screen, and my remote turned itself off, and on the other one I got a blue screen saying there had been an error.

    Any suggestions on what to try, to get my thing working again okay please? [​IMG]

    Thanks!
     


  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,539
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Could you please try to boot the games with Configurable USB Loader? I want to know if your HDD and the cIOS is OK.
     
  3. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    please do a syscheck and post the results. what cios are you using?

    also have you installed ios58? using the installer? what ios is your hbc using? to find out just press home inside hbc, it should tell you in the top right corner.
     
  4. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks for the replies guys, will take a look at this tonight - I'll try Configurable USB Loader, and I'll try to get the iOS number too [​IMG] Ttvm
     
  5. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay... just tried to load the Configurable USB loader but couldn't see it anywhere... think I deleted everything apart from USB Loader GX which wasn't very bright... also I updated USB Loader GX recently which may be causing the problems?

    In the HBC I'm using IOS61v21.29 by the way.

    Thanks again
     
  6. dn_angel000

    Member dn_angel000 Phantom User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Country:
    United States
    Use the HackMii Installer v0.8 then uninstall the HBC then reinstall so that the HBC is on IOS58!! lol
     
  7. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks dn, just put hackmii onto my wii, but how do I uninstall and reinstall HBC to IOS58?! [​IMG]
     
  8. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, just got into it - and it said "the test results are in! IOS61" but it didn't give me an option to change it to 58?! [​IMG]
     
  9. matguitarist

    Member matguitarist GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    be sure your IOS58 is original with no patch ... then reinstall HBC 1.08
     
  10. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, but how do I do that?! [​IMG]
     
  11. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/IOS58_Installer

    Or update to 4.3, which is what I did. I find it easier to just update, but some people don't.
     
  12. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks smf, I'll have a go at installing that later, fingers crossed....!
     
  13. jaynecobb

    Newcomer jaynecobb Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    the black
    Country:
    United States
    um, not sure if i am correct, but doesn't 4.3 jettison all homebrew?

    won't he/she have to use the indy or smashbros hack to get back going again?
     
  14. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    New HBC will survive.
     
  15. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Me again! Sorry to be a pain but I've just installed 58, but don't know how to select it now? According to HBC I'm still using 61. I tried using IOS Dop or whatever but 58 wasn't in the options
     
  16. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,539
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You must reinstall the homebrew channel with the latest hackmii installer.
     
  17. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, but still no joy - all of the hackmii files are already on my card which means when I boot up my Wii it pretty much ignored them :S

    Is there anyway I can start again or something? At the moment selling my Wii is getting kinda tempting because it's been almost a month now and I have no idea how to get it back [​IMG]
     
  18. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,539
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Create a "hackmii" folder in your apps folder and move the boot.elf from the installer in it, boot the homebrew channel and start the file. Then you can reinstall it.
     
  19. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks dude, just tried that - managed to install it again, but it was set to IOS58 with no way to change it, so yeah still nothing will load [​IMG]
     
  20. blizeH
    OP

    Member blizeH GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Final bump, please - anyone? Really want to get this working ;(
     

Share This Page