1. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    If I remember correctly, that update contained nothing but GDPR stuff. Also I think there have already been threads about this topic.
     
    ry755 and Mrtonychops like this.
  3. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I did a quick search and saw nothing about it. Maybe I used the wrong keywords. Sorry about that
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,795
    Country:
    United States
    Well they didn't as they didn't patch anything on the wii u on 5.5.3.
     
  5. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,071
    Country:
    Australia
    not entirely true on EUR region consoles they updated the privacy agreement thing which broke cold boot CFW

    Nah wasn't to prevent hax but rather the EUR privacy laws, the only hax broke were EUR cold boot cfw
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    9,795
    Country:
    United States
    But for EU user they can uninstall CBHC, update then reinstall CBHC. Then again there is always the risk of brick for CBHC.
     
  7. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa wtf!? I turned off Nintendo updates days ago when I first ran the Haxchi exploit and 20 minutes ago the system updates have a red X with "system error", but now trying to access the HB channel just takes me to a black screen and my console says I'm on 5.5.3??

    I literally was able to access HB just before making this post. All I did just after this, was try to access retroarch. What happened?
     
    Last edited by Mrtonychops, Sep 10, 2018
  8. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,071
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm aware of that, I posted the a quick guide with the fix the other day XD


    What region console were you?
     
    Hayato213 likes this.
  9. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Adran_Marit, NA
     
  10. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,071
    Country:
    Australia
    Odd reboot?
     
  11. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Adran_Marit, are you telling me to reboot or saying that it could be an 'odd reboot?"

    I had to reboot says my screen froze on a black screen when I tried access hb

    EDIT: I just checked and my setting still have Nintendo blocked from updates, so I have no idea how my system was updated to 5.5.3.

    It makes no sense :/
     
    Last edited by Mrtonychops, Sep 10, 2018
  12. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,071
    Country:
    Australia
    did rebooting fix? if not check you have all the files on SD still :)
     
  13. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Adran_Marit, ok I just checked... Rebooting fixed it and I can enter the HB channel so I assume I'm still modded, right?
    But why does my system say 5.5.3 when the update didn't go through? This is crazy
     
  14. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,071
    Country:
    Australia
    I dunno but haxchi and mods should still work
     
  15. Mrtonychops

    OP Mrtonychops Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Adran_Marit, when I try to access retroarch or an emulator straight from hb, I get a black screen with yellow text in the bottom left for a few seconds. The black screen ends up locking. Any ideas?
     
  16. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,071
    Country:
    Australia
    no sorry, haven't tried any emulation stuff on my wiiu
     
  17. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,458
    Country:
    United States
    Lol that's sad and desperate
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nintendo, prevent, modding