So I got my DSTwo and my save randomly isnt loading...

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by JesseJamesSmith, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. JesseJamesSmith
    OP

    Newcomer JesseJamesSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    So I bought a dsTwo, and I absolutely love it. I had it all set up perfectly, but I hadn't put the usrcheat.dat on it. I put it on there and loaded up a certain game that starts with P and rhymes with Tokemon and its acting like I don't have a save file. There is definitely a .sav with the same name as said game, but it isn't loading it. What did I do?
     
  2. ScarletCrystals

    Member ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    Bamboo Forest, Gensokyo
    Country:
    Canada
    make sure it's named EXACTLY the same (ie. use copy paste)
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. JesseJamesSmith
    OP

    Newcomer JesseJamesSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    That's the thing though, I didn't even do anything with the save file between it working fine and adding the usrcheat.dat
     
  4. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    somtimes file names can be too long
     
  5. JesseJamesSmith
    OP

    Newcomer JesseJamesSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    But it was working just fine in the same card less than 5 minutes before I added the cheat file.
     
  6. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    what cheat did u try

    its very easy to courupt the p game saves
     
  7. JesseJamesSmith
    OP

    Newcomer JesseJamesSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    The one to encounter specific wild monsters. The one that gives you a bunch of master balls you trash until the amount you have equals the number you want to battle. I've used it before on my crappy counterfeit r4
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    tryopening the sav file with pksav and it will tell you if corrupted or not
     
  9. JesseJamesSmith
    OP

    Newcomer JesseJamesSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Ill try that when I'm near my computer in an hour or so.
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    No, use PokéGen.
    Pokésav is known to open save files even if something's wrong with them.

    PokéGen will open the save file only if it is fully working.
     
  11. JesseJamesSmith
    OP

    Newcomer JesseJamesSmith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    So I'm an idiot. Turns out the DSTwo has a multiple save file feature built in, and I had somehow accidentally switched it from 0 to 1, which made it create a new empty .1.sav file. All fixed. Derp.

    Also, Pingouin, I think I have a Club Nintendo code for an American 3DS. I can't use it because it's for the collector's edition Zelda 3DS, and apparently you can only register one of those per account, as it tells me I have already registered it when I definitely haven't. Message me and I'll give it to you if I can find the slip thing,
     
  12. iGlitch

    Newcomer iGlitch Glitch

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Country:
    Japan

Share This Page