So how screwed are you if you get busted

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by MetaKz, Jun 26, 2007.

Jun 26, 2007
  1. MetaKz
    OP

Newcomer MetaKz Advanced Member

Canada
    Anyone have any stories on people getting screwed over after getting caught with a flash device or something? :| I'm just curious..

I wonder how much trouble you get into. I know if you're caught with backed-up movies it's 2500 dollars per movie or something. But movie piracy is a big no no compared to games.

2. Sinkhead

Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

United Kingdom
    It's the dealers they go after, not the buyers. Besides, flashcarts aren't illegal because you can use them for legal things (watching movies, listening to music etc) but modchips are illegal because they can only be used for illegal purposes (so far).
    I think this is true, but I'm not a legal expert or anything.

- Sam

3. Maikel Steneker

Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

Netherlands
    I never heard any of those stories. And I even brought my M3 with me on vacation.

Btw, about those movies: do you still have to pay that sum of money if you have the movie on a original DVD at home? 'Cause I have my DS- and GBA-games backed up on my flashcard together with some music and movies, but I own all of them!

4. 2cb2ct7

Member 2cb2ct7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Australia
    I have heard that at a customs level (not sure if this for Australia only or internationally) that pirated video games are being targeted over movies and music recently.

Where did you get that figure of $2500 per movie? What countries does this apply in? All films or only certain distributors films? A lot of ambiguity here [​IMG]

5. tenchan4

Member tenchan4 GBAtemp Regular

Japan
    Bootlegging games, movies and music is like smoking weed. Its not legal in the states, but alot of people still do it. But, to quote KRS-1, "Illegal business controls America." [​IMG]

6. 4saken

Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

Australia