Homebrew So frustrated and confused. Finished hacking Switch - but can't install titles

NextChallenger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Location
In the heart of battle.
XP
205
Country
United States
EDIT: All is well. I took a deep breath, sat down and worked through it. Hacked my Switch again from step 1, and everything is working excellently now. I'm shocked and pleased by how far Switch hacking has come since the first time I hacked my Switch back in 2018. Thanks for all your help everyone!

--------

I've spent the last two days bashing my head against this problem and I just can't figure it out. I've done this before. I hacked my Switch 2 years ago and everything went fine. I don't know what it is that I'm doing wrong and I'll take any advice I can get.

*ahem* so I followed this guide

https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/

I have a launch Switch so I used RCM and injected Hekate and followed the guide step-by-step
Fast forward to the end - I finished the entire setup and... nothing works

I try to install tinfoil using the auto installer, doesn't work
I try to use tinfoil applet, and it crashes, but when it doesn't crash, it gives thread errors instead
I grab the sigpatches, I think I'm grabbing the right sigpatches anyway... still nothing works
Try awoo instead... download sigpatches through awoo... oh hey nice my entire emummc setup is now inaccessible from within hekate. cool. guess my patches.ini got deleted or... something? I don't know anymore. Time to start over from scratch, I guess! I'm so fucking excited.

As of right now, I'm going to start over from the beginning. Re-hack my Switch from step 1 because I just love wasting my own time.
Could someone who is familiar with the guide I posted, please help me figure out what I need to do from there to install titles from USB? Is there a different guide I should be following if I intend to install titles at all? Maybe I should just be using this one (https://switch.homebrew.guide/index.html)? I don't know anymore.
 
Last edited by NextChallenger,

AsmodeusMac

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
443
Country
United States
Just use the switch Homebrew guide you linked at the end of your post. Go slow. Post your results. I used it less than 2 weeks ago...and I am not some hacking guru. If/when you get it working that AIO Switch Updater is fantastic.....but will not do much if you are unable to install anything. Good Luck! Keep us posted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NextChallenger

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
755
Country
New Zealand
I've spent the last two days bashing my head against this problem and I just can't figure it out. I've done this before. I hacked my Switch 2 years ago and everything went fine. I don't know what it is that I'm doing wrong and I'll take any advice I can get.

*ahem* so I followed this guide


What errors are you getting when you try to install NSP's?

Try installing these sigpatches,
https://gbatemp.net/threads/sigpatc...te-fss0-fusee-primary-fusee-secondary.571543/
I had to use these to allow me to install no more heroes 3
 
Last edited by grubgrub,
  • Like
Reactions: NextChallenger

NextChallenger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Location
In the heart of battle.
XP
205
Country
United States
Thanks for the advice, y'all. I'll do my best tonight and get back at ya with the results.

And why this is in Tutorials section is beyond me.
'cuz I'm an idiot sometimes. I wasn't sure if this was the right place to post this or not... until after I posted it. Genuinely sorry, not much I can do about it now. Maybe a mod can move it to where it belongs.
 
Last edited by NextChallenger,
  • Like
Reactions: osaka35

osaka35

Instructional Designer
Global Moderator
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
3,405
Trophies
1
Location
Silent Hill
XP
4,403
Country
United States
Thanks for the advice, y'all. I'll do my best tonight and get back at ya with the results.


'cuz I'm an idiot sometimes. I wasn't sure if this was the right place to post this or not... until after I posted it. Genuinely sorry, not much I can do about it now. Maybe a mod can move it to where it belongs.
no worries, it's a small thing.

As far as restarting from scratch, that's not a bad idea. You can start from scratch and keep your emuMMC as well. to "start over" usually just comes down to deleting certain folders from the root of your sd card (atmosphere, etc), plopping on all the latest stuff on your sd including patches, and using the latest hekate/payload/tegrarcmgui. And i'll use sdsetup.com to get the latest files. Updating firmware tends to be a bit of work, with getting your keys again if it's been a long time since you first did it, but that's not too bad.

It can take an hour or so (mainly waiting on files to be written to SD card, to be honest), but you can usually stay on that firmware for a while until there's a game that requires the latest. that update app is brilliant and saves a lot of the hassle one usually had to go through. I do animal crossing item generation for friends, so i tend to have to stay on top of things.

Oh! and put the sigpatches as a last step, after copying everything else to your SD card. Here is the sigpatches thread:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/sigpatc...te-fss0-fusee-primary-fusee-secondary.571543/
I use awooinstaller, and ignore the mention of sigpatches. since i copied them manually, they work just fine. I network install using awooinstaller.
 
Last edited by osaka35,
  • Like
Reactions: NextChallenger

NextChallenger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Location
In the heart of battle.
XP
205
Country
United States
Thanks everyone. I started over from the beginning (well, kinda - I already had my NAND & keys backed up), took things slow, grabbed the correct sig patches, and now everything is working mostly fine. Still a few issues here and there - I get a USB timeout error when installing via awoo right now - but it seems like stuff I can fix. I used the first guide I posted because it's the one I knew, but that means I'm missing some things that I'd normally get if I used sdsetup.com, like sys-clk. I'm gonna have to refresh myself on how to install and use all that stuff again since it's been a while, but I know I want to overclock my Switch and mod some of my games.
 
Last edited by NextChallenger,
  • Like
Reactions: osaka35

NextChallenger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Location
In the heart of battle.
XP
205
Country
United States
Quick question for you all -

If I plan to use my hacked Switch with wifi enabled on my local network (and not -ever- to play games), what are the steps I need to take to avoid connecting to Nintendo's servers and getting banned?

I already have 90dns up and operational, I've been looking into incognito but I can't figure out how to install it, not even sure it supports my Switch (which is on latest firmware).

edit - following these steps ( https://switch.hacked.us/extras/incognito/ ) should do it, right?
 
Last edited by NextChallenger,

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,389
Trophies
0
XP
1,526
Country
Australia
Quick question for you all -

If I plan to use my hacked Switch with wifi enabled on my local network (and not -ever- to play games), what are the steps I need to take to avoid connecting to Nintendo's servers and getting banned?

I already have 90dns up and operational, I've been looking into incognito but I can't figure out how to install it, not even sure it supports my Switch (which is on latest firmware).

edit - following these steps ( https://switch.hacked.us/extras/incognito/ ) should do it, right?

If I were you i follow this guide to used host file as if you loss files your not screwed
https://gbatemp.net/threads/90dns-d...-nintendo-servers.516234/page-28#post-9488528
 
  • Like
Reactions: NextChallenger

NextChallenger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Location
In the heart of battle.
XP
205
Country
United States
Last edited by NextChallenger,

NextChallenger

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Location
In the heart of battle.
XP
205
Country
United States
Quick question for anyone willing to help me out here.

Where do I begin with setting up Android on Switch?

I currently have an Atmosphere emuMMC setup, and what I'd like to do is to have the option to boot into Atmosphere or Android.

I have a seperate MicroSD I'm intending to use for my Android setup.

I'm having trouble finding up-to-date guides or any of the information I need, really. Dunno how I've managed to miss it all, there are probably readily available guides that I'm just somehow not finding, alas, I'm here asking for you to point me in the right direction. Thanks!
 

CompSciOrBust

E tier homebrew dev
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
493
Trophies
0
XP
1,422
Country
United Kingdom
Quick question for anyone willing to help me out here.

Where do I begin with setting up Android on Switch?

I currently have an Atmosphere emuMMC setup, and what I'd like to do is to have the option to boot into Atmosphere or Android.

I have a seperate MicroSD I'm intending to use for my Android setup.

I'm having trouble finding up-to-date guides or any of the information I need, really. Dunno how I've managed to miss it all, there are probably readily available guides that I'm just somehow not finding, alas, I'm here asking for you to point me in the right direction. Thanks!
You might get better / faster support from the Switch Root / RetroNX discord servers.
Switch Root: https://discord.com/invite/9d66FYg
RetroNX: https://discord.gg/VZDWqXU
 
  • Like
Reactions: NextChallenger

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,227
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,078
Country
United States
Quick question for anyone willing to help me out here.

Where do I begin with setting up Android on Switch?

I currently have an Atmosphere emuMMC setup, and what I'd like to do is to have the option to boot into Atmosphere or Android.

I have a seperate MicroSD I'm intending to use for my Android setup.

I'm having trouble finding up-to-date guides or any of the information I need, really. Dunno how I've managed to miss it all, there are probably readily available guides that I'm just somehow not finding, alas, I'm here asking for you to point me in the right direction. Thanks!
You can try following this guide for setting up Android.
 

marhalloweenvt

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
177
Country
I was facing the same problem with you when trying to install tinfoil self-installer 13. Tried many ways but nothing can make tinfoil self-installer works (always give error and advise to update systems). Then, I tried with the applet version of Tinfoil 13, can start it by Title Redirection (Hold R while selecting Gamecard). Applet seems not to work with Album Redirection (always give me errors). But a new problem comes, when I tried to install titles through USB, games aren't listed in usbfs:/ (nuts show: USB connected). After that, I tried Goldleaf - a really good app but don't have batch installation. So, I end up with Awoo - drag and drop titles on PC and then batch installing titles on NX. So I just say goodbye to Tinfoil and stick with Awoo from now on.
For everything order than titles (sigpatchs, cheat db,...), I use AIO Switch Updater in this link
P/s: According to some sources, I can't get Tinfoil 13 working because I used Hekate payload. They somehow advise using fusee-primary payload to install Tinfoil.
 
Last edited by marhalloweenvt,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    how did you go 3 years with cheeto on your mouse without realizing tho
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    do you look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    why do your friends look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they dont it's just that they saw the outside of my mouse and said it was disgusting
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    oh wait I understand my braincells have increased
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    by 1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    funnily enough when i was telling my openly femboy furry bf and my friend(we talk about femboys sometimes) they said "nope we don't wanna hear that that's disgusting"
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    why is cheeto dust of all things
    the subject that crosses the line
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wait, Switch Online now has Super Mario 64, right?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i really hate to say this but
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i dont think it does
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Huh, makes sense; they did sell that through the 3D All-Stars collection.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Which, last I heard was removed from the eShop...so they might as well offer it again, I guess...
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Will they use the same Shindou-translated ROM, or the original English ROM?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    googling it, it seems that mario 64 is on the service
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    in japan they use the shindou version apparently but in the states and elsewhere they use the original rom
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life