So, anyone buy a 3DS XL from Gamestop lately?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Alacres, Nov 14, 2012.

Nov 14, 2012
  1. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I was thinking of finally taking the plunge and getting one myself, but I was wondering what the odds are that I'll actually get one that's 4.3.0-9 or lower, this late in the year. Have any of you bought one from them recently, maybe within the last week or so, and which version did it come with?

    Thanks in advance for any info.
     


  2. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Got it from the launch and i think all the 3DS have the 3.1 specific 3DS XL firmware.
     
  3. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, so none of them come updated with firmware past 4.3.0-9? Man, that would definitely make my day :P.
     
  4. Mike19

    Member Mike19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    NSW
    Country:
    Australia
    Who knows? Maybe the best way to find out is just to buy it. If you have a flashcart that needs to be updated but the firmware is indeed higher than 4.3.0-9, you might just have to borrow a friends DSL or DSi.
     
  5. porkiewpyne

    Member porkiewpyne Report-er

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,941
    Country:
    Australia
    Who knows, you ask? Well I'd say people who just bought their 3DS XL recently, which he mentioned. Pretty sure he is aware of the fact that he needs a DSL/DSi to update. But I assume the reason why he asked this is because he already has flashcart that is incapable of running on a newer firmware, which is the dealbreaker as his desire for the 3DS XL is not all that overwhelming; more of a "Meh why not if my current flashcart can run in it". At least that is how I see it.
     
    plasma dragon007 likes this.
  6. Latiken

    Member Latiken GBATemp's Epic Fusion

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just gonna post this her so I won't have to make another thread.

    Does anyone know what firmware the 3DS comes with?
    I have an AK2i and I don't want to have to buy another flashcart.
     
  7. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's what I meant. I've got an Acekard 2i and I was hoping to be able to use it on the 3DS XL. I asked specifically about the gamestop models because I'm planning to buy it using store credit. I guess I could just buy it, check for the firmware, and return it if it's too high, but I feel like an ass doing stuff like that heh.

    That said, I was just hoping someone else around here might have purchased one from them recently, and I figured it couldn't hurt to ask.

    Thanks for the posts so far, by the way :).
     
    porkiewpyne likes this.
  8. porkiewpyne

    Member porkiewpyne Report-er

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,941
    Country:
    Australia
    ^Yea I thought so. Cos you specifically pointed out 4.3.0-9 and I felt that only Acekard users would be so specific about that particular firmware. I guess being an Acekard user as well made it easier for me to see why you mentioned it :P
     
  9. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I didn't really want to update to another flashcart if I can help it. The Acekard has served me well for quite awhile :).

    On a completely unrelated note, do any of you know how well the 3DS XL plays regular DS games? I'll probably be playing those more than anything (I love having a circle pad for games like Mario 64 heh), and I was wondering how close it looked/played to a DSi XL?
     
  10. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Well i played Pokemon Diamond and it was blurry.
    Not that much but u can see it.
    But after 3-4 days u won't notice it.
    And games on DSi XL look better then on 3DS XL.
    *sigh* well i hope the 3DS gets hacked, i think we are gonna see a DS emu on it playing upscaled games.
     
  11. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I finally decided to give a shot, and picked a red one up just a few hours ago. It's at the 4.1.0 - 8U version, so I guess I'm in the clear :).

    I was curious though - is it safe for me to setup the wireless internet or does the 3DS force updates when you're online? I thought I had heard that somewhere so I just wanted to make sure before I set everything up.

    It's been a long time since I messed with the Acekard stuff, but I do still have a DSi XL (and I think a DS lite, laying around somewhere), so hopefully I should be able to update the cart. Is there anything new that I should know about before I flash the Acekard with the latest firmware, or is the process pretty much the same as it was say, a year ago? I can't quite remember what the process was, or what was needed aside from just updating the firmware, but it shouldn't be too hard to find a guide around here.

    Thanks again for the responses guys :).
     
  12. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Nope, no forced updates. But you HAVE to update if you want to use the eShop or do a system transfer.
     
  13. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Ah well, I can live with that. How about games? Are there any 3DS games that can't be played without updating?

    Thanks, btw :)
     
  14. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I've run into a problem with this update procedure. I downloaded the latest firmware update, AKAIO, and AK2loader, put them in the root directory of my sd card (formatted using the SDformatter on Acekards site), but whenever I try to boot the acekard up on my DSi XL, it stalls at the "Loading" screen and just sits there (it's the version with the Chessmaster icon btw). On my friends release model 3DS, the Acekard doesn't even show up at all.

    Does this mean I'm going to have to get a DS Lite to update the cart, or is there another way? The DSi XL firmware is only version 1.4U, so could that be the reason it's not loading the cart? Man, I can't believe how much of this I forgot heh.
     
  15. Zero

    Banned Zero Belief will always save me

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not well versed on Acekard, but if the header shows up and it's bootable you should be able to update it.
     
  16. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Ha, it turns out, it was the Acekard that was faulty. Luckily I have a few extras, and I was finally able to find one. I popped it in and it got past the "Loading" screen instantly. Here's hoping I can update this thing without a problem.
     
  17. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    just as a note here someone says Paper Mario forces you to update to 4.4.0-10 before you can play
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    There's a few carts that need you to update, usually as far as the software was at the time they came out... so if you plan to use an Ak2i and they don't release any more firmware updates, you'll be able to play less and less 3DS games (out of the whole) as time goes on.
     
  19. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Arrg, that's a bummer, but I guess it's not surprising. I'll probably just give in eventually and get a DSTWO since it appears to be one of the most "future-proof". That, and I wouldn't mind doing a little emulation on this thing.

    On the plus side, I managed to update the AK2i and it's working fine on my new 3DS :). My system did freeze one time after going back to the homescreen, but it hasn't happened again. I'll be watching it to make sure it's not a defect with the system or something.

    By the way, I don't suppose there's a thread around here that might have a list of the 3DS games that work, depending on the firmware version? I checked the stickies in a few of the different forum sections and I couldn't find anything about it.

    Thanks for the help :).
     
  20. Alacres
    OP

    Newcomer Alacres Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    Edit: accidental double post
     

Share This Page