snow in photoshop

Discussion in 'GBAtemp Art Studio' started by sekhu, Dec 11, 2007.

Dec 11, 2007

snow in photoshop by sekhu at 8:12 AM (1,247 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a few images that I'd like touched up with some winter snow, so I'm looking to make snowflakes, as well as snow like in teh GBATemp header image.

    How do you actually make the snow? is there a filter that's available for doing it?

    hopefully someone has an idea on how to go about it.

    cheers in advance
     
  2. platty

    Newcomer platty Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's some seasonal brushes from just a quick search through google.

    Winter Brushes

    EDIT: Seems like the file is no longer there, but try this Link
     
  3. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks platty i'll take a look, how easy is it to create the layered snow a la the header at the top of gbatemp? Is it using the pen tool then filling it in with a gradient? Am I even aware of what I'm talking about?
     
  4. acky

    Member acky GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Australia
    For the GBA Temp header, it looks like you can use the noise filter then set the layer to multiply (or was it screen?). Then use the eraser to thicken/thin the snow.
     
  5. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    could you provide an example of what the steps would be?

    thanks

    edit: found one tutorial that seems promising: http://www.tutorialwiz.com/snow_on_text/ if there are any more tuts of this type, I'd be grateful

    cheers
     
  6. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there's a couple of plug-in's

    vdl adrenaline and vanderlee snowscape they are really good [​IMG]
     
  7. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For the GBAtemp header Christmas banner I just used the airbrush with a 50% or so opacity, increased step, low hardness and large size. I did strokes horizontally across the image, more at the top and less as you work down. Looks OK to me [​IMG]

    I use Paint Shop Pro BTW. Not Photoshop...
     
  8. Alonsonic

    Newcomer Alonsonic Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Venezuela
    hi i used photoshop elements and gifanimator for mine ^^
     
  9. asuri

    Member asuri GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    Canada
  10. sekhu
    OP

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks guys and gals, i'll look into those and practice [​IMG]
     

Share This Page