Homebrew Snes9xGX-Mushroom

InfiniteBlue

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
62
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
220
Country
United States
That problem without mentioning that on all games (including simple SNES games and all chips FX, SA-1, etc.) reset when returning to the game from the menu if the "FX Overclock" value is set to "Default".
(I mean, SNES games doesn't reset when returning to the game from the menu if the "FX Overclock" value is set to "20 MHz", "40 MHz" or "60 MHz".)
I was about to suggest trying this - the problem is with the new change to fix the FX Overclock setting not being applied on boot.

The code was moved into the main loop, so it now gets called any time you return to the emulation (i.e. exiting the menu). There, it now checks if your Overclock setting is 20, 40, or 60, and if it isn't any of those, it will reset the emulation.
 

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,888
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
3,842
Country
Ecuador
I was about to suggest trying this - the problem is with the new change to fix the FX Overclock setting not being applied on boot.

The code was moved into the main loop, so it now gets called any time you return to the emulation (i.e. exiting the menu). There, it now checks if your Overclock setting is 20, 40, or 60, and if it isn't any of those, it will reset the emulation.
but any way for fix that issue that when on "Default" the reset emulation isn't applied?
Because pausing the game with HOME button and then returning to the game from here and getting the bad surprise of the game was reset isn't so good.
 

InfiniteBlue

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
62
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
220
Country
United States
but any way for fix that issue that when on "Default" the reset emulation isn't applied?
Because pausing the game with HOME button and then returning to the game from here and getting the bad surprise of the game was reset isn't so good.
I was just trying things out, and evidently slapping a first-run flag around the moved overclock code was enough to get it to work. The menu closes now without resetting and it seems to keep the saved overclock setting at boot. It's definitely a kludgy/hacky fix, I dunno how I feel about it or the original implementation. I feel like there's more to be understood with the fix in general, but then again I'm no SNES expert.

I attached my boot.dol and the changed C++ file from snes9xRX (don't yet have a repo on my end for TX). Feel free to use it if you'd like, just be aware that it still might not be ideal lol.

@Tanooki16 was there a reason the Interpolation setting was moved too alongside the Overclock setting? I'm not super familiar with the SNES at a technical level, so was just wondering if that was necessary for the overclock to work properly.
 

Attachments

  • overclockFix.7z
    1.9 MB · Views: 8
Last edited by InfiniteBlue,

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,888
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
3,842
Country
Ecuador
@InfiniteBlue Thanks again, great work! I am preparing the fixed versions

Edit:
Update is available in the first two messages :)
@Tanooki16

Many thanks a lot Tanooki :)

Tested again some games (including a few FX games) with this new version v1.0.9b and now it works without issues. :D
Now the games won't reset when i return to the game from the menu when pressed HOME, the FX overclocking setting is now working correctly as should, and the FX games when i pause with HOME button, let it for seconds and then return again these won't crash anymore. :)

Only tested these games but works:
  • Earthworm Jim 2 (USA)
  • Stunt Race FX (USA)
  • Super Scope 6 (USA)
  • Yoshi's Safari (USA) (oooh, a true Super Scope jewel game, i don't know why don't try this out :) )
Now this is a more decent update to Snes9x TX :)

Thanks for your great efforts for maintaining both Snes9x TX and FCEUX TX, i just love them since of their nice GUI and performance :)
 

Tanooki16

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
905
Country
France
@SaulFabre Thanks, now yes it's great :)

Small surprise for tonight (French time).
wjhlKjT.png


So instead of putting several months before update, I will put here a regular beta version ^^
 

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,888
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
3,842
Country
Ecuador
@SaulFabre Thanks, now yes it's great :)

Small surprise for tonight (French time).
wjhlKjT.png


So instead of putting several months before update, I will put here a regular beta version ^^
Niccceeeeee :)
I think this beta version should be called "1.0.9c"?

PD: Could also update the number of version on the emulator GUI and not just on the release in order for avoid confusion between versions?
 
Last edited by SaulFabre,
  • Like
Reactions: Tanooki16

Tanooki16

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2009
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
905
Country
France
Just 1.1.0 Beta 1 ^^ Ok for the version in the GUI

@SaulFabre Finally I prefer your idea, so it's a version 1.0.9c, and as the option works perfectly without breaking anything ^^ and it has been translated in all languages, it is "official" and on the first page ;)

Tomorrow I'm preparing everything for niuus and I'm taking a little break, The Witcher 3 is calling me :P
 
Last edited by Tanooki16,

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,888
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
3,842
Country
Ecuador
@SaulFabre Finally I prefer your idea, so it's a version 1.0.9c, and as the option works perfectly without breaking anything ^^ and it has been translated in all languages, it is "official" and on the first page ;)

Tomorrow I'm preparing everything for niuus and I'm taking a little break, The Witcher 3 is calling me :P
Just tested a bit the v1.0.9c version and the new options for Audio settings (Stereo Inversion, Interpolation) and these work fine for me :)

I love the Gausian option since as the option says, it attempts to bring the same sound quality like on original SNES hardware :)

Also retested teh games i've tested on Snes9x TX v1.0.9b for see if there was a regression and all of these didn't have any issues.
Thanks for this quick update!!!! :)
(It's quite better release some quick updates rather than waiting a looong time for a new release, even when it's applied to the current version) xD
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tanooki16

RunningSnakes

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
848
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,583
Country
United States
@SaulFabre Thanks, I have to do the translations and a beta version is probably planned for tomorrow (I included the option to hide SRAM saving by InfiniteBlue). Same for FCEUX TX (FCEUltra GX the forgotten one, nobody likes it :P )

@niuus Check out your Snes9x RX topic ;)
I love FCEUX TX. I consider it the very best NES/FDS emulator/fork available for the Wii/vWii.
 

SaulFabre

Wii scene/hacking & Wii VC well-known guy
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2019
Messages
1,888
Trophies
1
Age
23
Location
Ecuador
Website
saulfabreg-wiivc.blogspot.com
XP
3,842
Country
Ecuador
But as I'm a big NES fan I'm still very motivated ;)
Me too. I'm a NES fan.
Also i'm surprised that nowadays still we have new NES games, even when it's homebrew or extracted from new console releases.
Pac-Man Championship Edition (2020, official NES demake by Namco), Gaplus (2020, official NES demake by Namco), Super Mario All-Stars NES (homebrew, last updated 2020 by infidelity)... oh, these are good! :)
 

Brand Newman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
twitter.com
XP
2,194
Country
France
Hello @Tanooki16 !

I'm gonna write in English although we both are French, first of all to congratulate you on that great job you do for both SNES and NES fans who enjoy using their Wii and Wii U to emulate these systems! (240p is really the way to go if you happen to have a compatible TV)

I'm encountering a small issue with Snes9xTX only : when I try to load a save state (either created with previous or most recent version), the software doesn't load it, and instead brings me back to the game?

I was wondering if other people had this issue, since it doesn't happen to me with Snes9xRX? May something have been accidentally broken up, or could it be connected to my console somehow?

Thank you in advance everyone for your answer, and once again Tanooki, "félicitations pour ton travail, je suis un grand fan de tout ce que tu fais pour la communauté"!
 

RunningSnakes

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
848
Trophies
1
Age
48
XP
2,583
Country
United States
Hello @Tanooki16 !

I'm gonna write in English although we both are French, first of all to congratulate you on that great job you do for both SNES and NES fans who enjoy using their Wii and Wii U to emulate these systems! (240p is really the way to go if you happen to have a compatible TV)

I'm encountering a small issue with Snes9xTX only : when I try to load a save state (either created with previous or most recent version), the software doesn't load it, and instead brings me back to the game?

I was wondering if other people had this issue, since it doesn't happen to me with Snes9xRX? May something have been accidentally broken up, or could it be connected to my console somehow?

Thank you in advance everyone for your answer, and once again Tanooki, "félicitations pour ton travail, je suis un grand fan de tout ce que tu fais pour la communauté"!
Testing this issue, i cannot reproduce this behavior. Load state is working correctly for me with 1.0.9c (NTSC-U 4.1).
 
  • Like
Reactions: SaulFabre

Brand Newman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
379
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
twitter.com
XP
2,194
Country
France
Testing this issue, i cannot reproduce this behavior. Load state is working correctly for me with 1.0.9c (NTSC-U 4.1).
Thank you for testing, I'll check my folders in the ini file just in case, and compare them to Snes9xRX (since this one works). :)

Out of curiosity, are the savestates from RX compatible with TX, and vice versa? (I expect them to be, but...)

Have a good day!

EDIT: checked the XLM settings, which were identical (<setting name="SaveFolder" value="snes9xgx/saves" description="Save Folder" />)

So I deleted the configuration file and started anew, which gave me the path "<setting name="SaveFolder" value="snes9xtx/saves" description="Save Folder" />", but didn't resolve my issue though...

The software does take a snapshot and tells me saving was successful, and I can indeed see the files in the folder of my SD card, but when I try to load the state, it resets the game instead.

kirby save.jpg


Well anyway, thanks for trying, I'll go back and forth between TX and RX, and/or play the games "the old fashioned way" (AKA "with tears and blood") till the problem gets resolved for me! :)
 
Last edited by Brand Newman,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: The concept is a Dungeons n' Dragons game come to life, and the party are 80s teens. They have...