Snes9x GX teething problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by pwsincd, Feb 6, 2012.

Feb 6, 2012

Snes9x GX teething problem by pwsincd at 6:49 PM (507 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. pwsincd
    OP

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im new to snes9x and am having teething troubles on setting it up .
    i can run the app from homebrew (didnt yet add the channel till it works)
    it loads fine and i can click around but when i choose to edit settings (i.e source of roms)
    or scroll up levels to find my USB hdd it freezes and i have to reset , any ideas on what im doing wrong ?
     
  2. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    is your snes9x folder on the usb drive or on a sd card?
    Sometimes, loading the app from the usb causes trouble for the in application usb access.
    I have read other people's post about usb issues with this program as well. I don't think I have read a solution so far.
    Maybe it's something specific with snes9x.
     
  3. pwsincd
    OP

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well initially i didnt recreate the rom folder structure on the sd for initial boot and had it on the usb , now i have it on sd it boots , i have read a few places insinuating that a large file count might effect it , but nothing concrete... it doesnt suggest anything in any set up readme files
     
  4. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    So, can you load the rom's from the usb drive now, or just from the sd card?
     
  5. pwsincd
    OP

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no it freezes when i either try to go up folder levels or if i choose to selct the rom source i.e usb hdd etc
     
  6. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    What harddisk are you using?
    Is your homebrew channel running on ios 58? (You can check in the upper right corner of one of the screens.)
     
  7. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Just a "wild" guess, either connect your Wii to wifi or remove that damn no_ios_reload line in HBC meta.xml.
    Don't ask me why, it just came to my mind like that
     
  8. pwsincd
    OP

    Member pwsincd Garage Flower

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,976
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WD 1tb essentials
    and yes to ios58


    it is wifi connected.


    having trouble accessing the TV to further test as the mrs is hogging it ...grr :)
     
  9. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Make sure your HDD has a FAT partition.
    Seems like a problem when mouting the drive
     
  10. painless

    Member painless GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    Do you mean FAT32?
     
  11. Wiimpathy

    Member Wiimpathy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    407
    Country:
    France
    Which version are using ? Maybe you're using the latest crappy cover mod version. :)
     
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,388
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Oh good, glad I'm not the only one.
     

Share This Page