SNES9X 3.1 bricked my wii completely

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by tatumanu, Jun 25, 2008.

Jun 25, 2008
  1. tatumanu
    OP

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hi, i installed SNES9X 3.1 and once i ran the app it it stated showing all this dos looking code and froze ...now my wii doesnt switch on at all!! totally bricked it, right?
    any desperate sugestions? I bought it 2nd hand last week so i still have a garantee i guess ... but my flash is filled with dowloaded wads, so im a bit worried...
     


  2. Palmtree

    Newcomer Palmtree Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    New Waterford, NS
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm sorry to hear that, I have no suggestions, but I am wondering where you downloaded it from
     
  3. ridgecity

    Member ridgecity GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    Mexico
    Ouch. You can take it for repairs, but they will charge you, once you hack it you don't have warranty anymore, or just don't tell them you hacked it.
     
  4. tatumanu
    OP

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    the file had this info on it:

    Channel: SNES9X 3.1 by LoPsT
    Video Modes: PAL50, PAL60 RGB, MPAL, 480i, 480p...
    Version: 3.1
    ID: ASNX

    DO NOT PUSH ON "Homebrew Channel Reload" (CODE DUMP)

    Banner by DRaGMaRe

    File uploaded & shared by DRaGMaRe
     
  5. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you unpluged the wi from the mains and the tyed it again?
     
  6. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    hold the power button on your wii or unplug it, that should do the trick!
     
  7. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You installed it as a channel? That might be the problem. Corrupt channels may break your wii, there was already a topic from a guy who bricked his wii while experimenting with channel banners.
     
  8. F0ur2o

    Member F0ur2o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
    Custom Banner Brick..???

    DraGMaRe is on tehskeen isn't he..??

    Maybe he can help you.

    His Page on TehSkeen


    PS was this in the NFO

    "DO NOT PUSH ON "Homebrew Channel Reload" (CODE DUMP)"

    Did you press it..??
     
  9. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ey, do this means that you are getting this:
    [​IMG]
    Or it just don't boot? I mean, it don't power up, or do you get to [​IMG]this screen and it freezes
     
  10. Linguist

    Newcomer Linguist Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]
    just a warning for myself not to install any wad if the program could be started with HBC.
     
  11. tatumanu
    OP

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    in reply, yes that was the nfo, not sure what "do not push on" really means, the wii was completely dead!!

    SOLUTION:
    Yep i got it working again , i pressed both red sync buttons (on the wii,next to the sd slot) and on the controller (next to the battery) and the wii revived!!!!

    Its working totally fine now .. first thing i did was uninstall the damn snes9x, pitty cause i was really curious about this software but now im really scared of doing it again....

    Yey!! thanks for all your replys by the way! you guys rock.
     
  12. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you install it as a channel? If so, don't! Install the Homebrew Channel then run it through that.

    Considerably safer.
     
  13. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    lol so basicly you just had a simple crash
     
  14. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So that's mean that you couldn't boot a wii with a controller? Wait, pressing sync buttons.... [​IMG] it only searchs for a controller...
     
  15. tatumanu
    OP

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    yeah it was a channel, i instaled it using wad installer 2.1, well not really a simple crash cause i couldnt turn the wii on at all ,no light , power button didnt work , pressing both power and reset didnt work, unplug and plug again ... nothing did work, it was really rock dead, at least it looked like it.
     
  16. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is VERY strange, and you found VERY strange solution.But simplest solutions are always the best. [​IMG]
     
  17. tatumanu
    OP

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    yeah it was all very strange indeed... first the wierd crash that really made it looked bricked and then the fact that pressing the red buttons on both the wii and he controler made the power light come back on and all working as it should... i dont know if it was the combination of the 2 buttons or if pressing the red button on the wii alone did the trick ... but still i did press the red button alone before and didnt work... I really got no clue but really makes me believe that the "hard reset" on a wii is pressing the red buttons hahaha. But im as confused as you hahaha
     
  18. mercantigo

    Newcomer mercantigo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Brazil
    Weird problems demands weird sollutions!

    Fico feliz por ter funcionado [​IMG]
     
  19. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm leeching a bit here on your thread, but i've got a problem with the Snes9x 3.1 Lopst version, running thru Homebrew channel beta 8, it boots up, and my wiimote is connected, but as soon as i choose ANY option, i.e "load a game" , or any other option, it just crashes,with a static colored stripes all over the screen ( there's a quick text popping up, saying something with "[bad chksum]" etc, it dissapears to fast to be able to read..)

    i've read around about this problem but haven't found anyone with the same problem, only those who gets that screen, because having a GC Memory card inserted, which i dont..
    i really want this emulator to work.. :/
    any suggestions?
     
  20. tatumanu
    OP

    Member tatumanu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Porto
    Country:
    Portugal
    NoOne, thats EXACTLY what happened to me! but i guess you were lucky enough for the wii not going into a wierd bricking state like mine did ... as for how to get it to work , well i really didnt tried yet, i installed the homebrew channel just now so i might try again in a bit .... or maybe not hahaha im kinda scared now.
     

Share This Page