Hacking SNES on the DS?

XtremeResident

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
121
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
94
Country
Canada
Im sure theres a guide out there...especially one that is written well enough for even a noob to understand. Well, thats what im looking for right now. if anyone knows how or can link me..please do!...one that works with the Supercard (Lite) of course..

thanks!
 

XtremeResident

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
121
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
94
Country
Canada
more details please.

i tried both links on the 2nd post. the 1st one kinda freezes up when i launch it (i put the *.nds file in a folder called SNES along with some.smc roms), and the 2nd link it broght me in the middle of a 30 page thread and i dont know whats going on.
 

tama_mog

Kupo
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
1,288
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
251
Country
United States
I would suggest searching under emulator forums here or go to scdev.org to look @ their forums and see people's experiences with these emulators.
 

GameDragon

Mugiwara RAWR!
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2005
Messages
1,354
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
222
Country
United States
Download SnezziDS v0.27 Wip3 from http://www.angelfire.com/gundam/bb2k/snezzi-0.27-wip3.zip (Copy and Paste this link)

To convert .SMC to .NDS unzip the files and your SNES roms into the same folder.
Drag and drop the .SMC onto snezzi.exe, this will convert into an .NDS

Simply write the NDS game like you normally would after that
smile.gif
.
 

kladen

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
120
Country
Canada
But keep in mind that compatibility is pretty poor. If you though playing Chronos trigger or mario RPG, your're screwed.
 

GameDragon

Mugiwara RAWR!
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2005
Messages
1,354
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
222
Country
United States
Chrono Trigger actually works, sound is pretty poor though but it is looking real good.

Super Mario RPG (And many other games) won't work on it however due to a special chip that isn't emulated on the DS.
 

XtremeResident

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
121
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
94
Country
Canada

XtremeResident

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
121
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
94
Country
Canada
Alright so i gave this a try and got some very mixed results.

Chrono Trigger seemed to work fine...the text letters were a little chopped, but still very readable

Mortal Kombat II started, then froze.

Killer Instinct played well, but graphic textures were eww.

and thats it. *sigh* i wishnthere was something a little more stable out there..
 

Opium

PogoShell it to me ™
Former Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
8,201
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Australia
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
1,120
Country
Australia
Ahh sweet sweet Chrono Trigger on my DS
smile.gif
It runs at perfect speed, no slowdowns. The only problem being that character sprites like to disappear and the text and sound is all garbled or isn't present. Hopfully these things will be fixed up sometime in the future. I'm astonished at how well the game plays though. Great Snezzi DS update.

 

kobewan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
161
Trophies
0
Location
Austin, Texas
Website
Visit site
XP
62
Country
United States
Ahh sweet sweet Chrono Trigger on my DS
smile.gif
It runs at perfect speed, no slowdowns. The only problem being that character sprites like to disappear and the text and sound is all garbled or isn't present. Hopfully these things will be fixed up sometime in the future. I'm astonished at how well the game plays though. Great Snezzi DS update.

Hm, that sounds like a pretty big problem to me. Or do you mean that the text is a little messed up, but still readable (like the above post states)? I would consider the emulator to be useful when I can pick up a game that I have never played before (but still obviously own
wink.gif
) and play through the whole game. Until then, good luck with the improvement --- it sounds like its coming along great. The lack of sound doesn't bother me.

Also, does SNEmulDS play Chrono Trigger at full speed? I would check, but I am currently without a flashcart...
 

Cygoku

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
237
Trophies
0
XP
94
Country
Canada
Oh noes! you have to look how to get it to work on your own! ????!
Not everyone knows where to start, the logic of homebrew, the available ressources and so on. So next time someone is asking help please restrain yourself from such comment.

Not everyone is as much "intelligent" as you are.

[sarcasm]Look at outphase, he knows how to use an emulator![/sarcasm]

Cygoku
 

XtremeResident

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
121
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
94
Country
Canada
hehe its cool, i shook it off..not everyone knows everything.

And i dont know what your talking about "no sound"...my snezzi has sound. pretty good sound too....like i said...its just the text thats a little messed up (but still readable)

I havent come across sprites disappearing, but thats probably because i dindt play more than 2 minutes
tongue.gif
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I like RE apocalypse