Snes Emulator not working on my PSP go

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by daz1985, Jul 27, 2011.

Jul 27, 2011
  1. daz1985
    OP

    Newcomer daz1985 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi,

    using the help on the first thread i managed to get 6.39 pro b7 temp firmware installed on my psp go but when trying to get snes emulator (using these instructions to the letter http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/537964 it doesnt work it just says data corrupted. is this a common problem or have i done something wrong myself. help would be greatly appreciated thanks.
     
  2. koimayeul

    Member koimayeul GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    Hi

    Hum usually this happen because of the Eboot being in subfolder in the /game of your memory stick, make sure there is only one folder (snes9xTYL) with Eboot directly on its root

    Also maybe download this revision from here http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Emulation_on_PSP

    Step by step :

    - download the archive Snes9xTYLmecm 11-27-09 from the link i posted
    - unzip it (need winRAR)
    - copy the folder s9xTYLmecm to your memory stick in /PSP/GAME
    - place your SNES roms (preferably unzipped) in the ROMS folder inside s9xTYLmecm
    - all done, just launch the emulator from your PSP games menu and it should run
     
  3. daz1985
    OP

    Newcomer daz1985 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wont have a chance to try that for 24 hrs but wanted to say thanks now for your help and not be ignorant
     
  4. koimayeul

    Member koimayeul GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    most welcome if i can help a fellow temper, plus this emulator is really smooth you will love it
     
  5. daz1985
    OP

    Newcomer daz1985 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks mate you're a legend it worked straight away with the file you suggested downloading. i dont suppose you have an equally easy method for n64 games?!
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The reason you were having problems is because you were using a version of the SNES emulator that came out before the 2000 was even released...

    The N64 emulator isn't up to snuff...
     
  7. daz1985
    OP

    Newcomer daz1985 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    does that mean its rubbish and not worth bothering with yes?
     
  8. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's okay if you don't mind playing a select few games at relatively good speed with sound off to maintain said speed (the sound usually doesn't play well anyways). For the most part though, it is just proof of concept. The PSP isn't powerful enough to emulate the N64 well.

    That said, don't consider the PSP N64 emulator for serious emulation. A lot of games that do work have terrible texture issues, frame rate issues, or both.
     
  9. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    But if u DO want to play on n64. Use the same link koimayeleul gave you and download there. Drop the folder at the same place as your SNES emulator. You roms should go in the ROM folder.
    Here is a compatibility list http://forums.daedalusx64.com/compat.php
    Though the only game im playing is Mario 64 because i can run it there with almost no FPS drop.
     
  10. Dsmanic!

    Newcomer Dsmanic! Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Australia
    I got PSP E1000 with 6.60 pro and im having the same problem. Please help!
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Old versions won't work, use one of the ones listed here.

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Emulation_on_PSP
     

Share This Page