SNES EMU now with Classic Controller and 2 Player support

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Rocco Savadgie, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. Rocco Savadgie
    OP

    Member Rocco Savadgie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Country:


  2. Dingler

    Member Dingler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Country:
    Denmark
  3. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post #27 in fact [​IMG]
     
  4. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nice!
    Now I´m want a Classic Controller
     
  5. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have time to find and mess with any source code, but it should be feasible to create a Wiimote+Nunchuk version with a simple control scheme for those of us without the CC.

    It'd be something like:
    Joystick= SNES Pad
    Pad up, left, right, down = X, Y, A, B respectively
    Z = L
    B = R
    + and - = Start and Select

    Anyone know how to do this, or who can tell me to do this? I'm sure it's fairly easy but I don't have any source to fiddle with.
     
  6. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    The SNES ROMs aren't appearing anymore. When I try to load them up I get "f_opendir (/snes9x/roms) failed with 11. Pulsa A o 2 para Continuar." I've changed nothing but the .elf from the one I used before to this one.
     
  7. squirt1000

    Banned squirt1000 Would rather have a cup of Tea!

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow! It was only this morning I was playing around with wiiremote support on this emu! Damn this guy is fast [​IMG]
     
  8. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    super fantastic.
     
  9. light_kun

    Member light_kun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Canada
    is this only for PAL?
     
  10. Akdul

    Member Akdul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Country:
    Mexico
    No.
     
  11. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I just tried it and it works great. The only problem I got is that it didn't keep the save. Where do they go on the microSD card?
     
  12. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you do this with the SD Slot/Twilight Hack alone, or do you need that Gecko loader crap?
     
  13. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States
    i got the same error as gaisuto. i too just replaced the elf file... it was working before with the other version.

    also what do you press to go back to the snes menu? or you can't with this one?

    anyway, it got me very excited for a bit.
     
  14. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    Well I got the same error, but in English for another version. Moving the roms folder to "/snes9x/roms" and then reloading the emulator seemed to of made them display again. I haven't tried it on this one but I'm sure it'd work.
     
  15. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    v2 of this emulator was released. Here's the info translated:

    Put the roms into ROOT:/snes9x/roms. What is Castellano?
     
  16. DrQuack02

    Newcomer DrQuack02 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Got things running well... wouldn't work with the homebrew channel, but works fine with the TP hack...

    Only issue is I can't get it to save / load correctly....that part wasn't exactly translated into English...so its a bit hard to know if I'm doing the right thing.

    A folder in:

    F:/snes9x/saves

    Is all you need for it to be able to put a state on the Wii SD right?
     
  17. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States

    castellano is spanish
     
  18. NinjaN

    Newcomer NinjaN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    It seems Lopst has released v2.1 of his port, english is added here (according to his changelog)...


    Off to try it now!


    EDIT:
    Tried it, it is indeed english now. Classic controller works great but one still needs a GC controller to access the menu while playing (C-Left)...

    I still have my stupid "PAL Wiis only displays black and white video"-problem but this will eventually be solved.


    Only tried it for a couple of minutes, games that started and ran for about one minute (my testing time) are:

    Super Mario RPG
    Earthbound
    Super Mario World
    Super Metroid


    Had one hangup while after playing in the menu and then trying to start a game, rebooted (hard reset) and everything worked just fine...
     
  19. Nottulys

    Member Nottulys GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    HDCA
    Country:
    United States
    Is everyones saves not working?
    /snes9X/saves
    thats the structure I'm using
    any help?
     
  20. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Saves don't work for me either, but save states do. Try that!
     

Share This Page