SNES Advance

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by Kalisiin, Aug 16, 2009.

Aug 16, 2009

SNES Advance by Kalisiin at 7:47 PM (4,265 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I tried, the SNESAdvance.gba file, you can't just drop it into the SD on the supercard, and the patcher doesn't patch it...it fails patch.

    If anyone has gotten this to work on a Supercard, can you let me know how?

    I looked all over the Supercard page and Dewdit's page on SNESAdvance...I did everything the way he said, but it didn't work out...like I said, it won't patch...

    Well, anyways, if it can't be done, no major-huge great big issue, I have NES and GBA games on the Supercard, which is for use with my GBA SP....so, not the end of the world if we can't make it happen, because I CAN use my DS lite for it..but would still like to be able to do SNES, too.
     
  2. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, SNES games would be a bother, seeing as how the GBA is missing two buttons from its controller. I'd say you should just play them on your DS.
     
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Just run it through the patcher anyway, ignoring the fact that it says it will fail. Copy the output rom from the output directory to your card and try it.

    Another good alternative to SNES Advance is Snezziboy, though with this one you can only have one game per *.gba file (drag-and-drop the game onto snezzi.exe to get your output file). With Snezziboy too you must run it through the SC patcher.

    With both emulators, you'll want the latest SuperDAT file. This can be downloaded from http://www.pocketheaven.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=3366

    Here are some instructions I typed up long ago and saved away so I wouldn't have to waste time doing it again in the future. You may already know most of it, but it's still good info:
     
  4. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Yup.
    You Da Man, No Doubt!!
    SNES works like you say on GBA, although the play seems slow, but I'm not complaining. Especially since it is Super Buster Bros. I'm playing. That game could USE a slowdown, LOL, now I can rack up better scores!

    Also, yes, Supercard works drag and drop, with GB and GBC...I tested that.

    With the SNES, you gotta do it a file at a time thru the SNES converter, then rename your output file, then run it thru the patcher, and it does work....but slow.

    YOU DA MAN!!!

    We need a special emoticon for that, anyone wanna try whipping something up?

    We need a "YOU DA MAN" emote. And, to be fair, a "YOU DA WOMAN" emote.
     
  5. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agreed but it didn't stop people generating GBA SNES emulators. I believe if you hold L orR the A and B buttons become X and Y. Playthrough will obviously be slower since while the GBA is a lot more powerful than the SNES its just not really good enough to emulate it really well.
     
  6. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Mostly, the games I like, it doesn't matter, much. Remember, I'm old-school. I'm not into lightning-fast shoot-em-up whatzits, like you young kids today are.
    It's a generational thing, I guess, I JUST WANT THE GAMES OF MY GENERATION!!

    That's why I LOVE it that you can play ATARI games on the DS.
    There's something very dirtily joyous about using such a piece of high-tech....to deliver such deleriously wonderful low-tech games!! [​IMG]
     
  7. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait. You have a DS and are wondering about GBA SNES Emus?!?! Use SNEmulDS it will be 10x better than any GBA Emu due to the controls!
     
  8. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    But you don't understand.
    I work the night shift. I need TWO machines...in order to keep me busy all night, and one machine doesn't hold power thru the whole night. So I have both a DS and a GBA SP that I take to work with me.

    I work at an answering service, on night shift, and calls come in about once ever half-hour.

    My boss knows I play these games at work, and ENCOURAGES IT....because it is essential I stay awake for when the phone DOES ring. That means it is a very critical call.

    SO...mostly I get paid to sit around and play on my DS and GBA all night...and just answer a few phones.

    NOW do you understand?
     
  9. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are there no power outlets or USB ports where you work?
     
  10. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I do not own a USB charge cord, and no, all the available power outlets are taken up, with the many computer and telephonic equipment our company uses. Besides...I don't like being hooked to ANYTHING when I am playing. I would find a cord highly annoying.
     
  11. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the explanation, I guess I should'nt have snapped at you like that. If only the DS had an adaptor to let you use AAs it would be perfect since you could charge up a bunch then take them with you like you can with a GBA (original)
    A USB charge cable might be an idea though
     
  12. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    We're good. No problem.
    Yeah, would be nice, but...ah, well.
     
  13. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    SNES Advance supports adding more than one game per *.gba compilation (though this will obviously increase loading time on the Supercard). Snezziboy only has one SNES game per GBA file. And yes, very few games run at full speed, though getting the updated SuperDAT helps quite a bit for both emulators. Speedhacks are actually very simple - SNES games run at a fixed 60 fps, so when the game is done doing all its work in a single frame, it just sits there in an idle loop waiting for the next frame to come along. If we can find that loop, we can skip it, thus speeding up emulation since we don't bother emulating instructions that don't do anything. The issue is that each speedhack must be found manually (there is an automatic tool but it doesn't work too well). It looks like Super Buster Bros. already has a speedhack, but I can take a look at it if I get the time.

    EDIT: Regarding power: I bought a simple battery compartment from Radio Shack that holds 4 AA batteries, then wired it up to the wires of a DS car charger that I cut in the middle. I can then recharge my DS about twice on a set of 4 AA batteries, which is very convenient for exactly your situation when you don't have access to a power plug for extended periods of time.
     
  14. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Coolness. And good idea re: power.
    Still, I want to be able to spend all 8-12 hours I am working...playing games. And the batteries for just one system don't hold enough juice to do it, that's why I carry two game units with me to work. Yet one more reason why PORTABILITY is a huge issue for me.
     
  15. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Well yeah, that's exactly what the device is for. I might not have explained it very well, so here's a picture:
    [​IMG]

    With this, I can play a DS for a really long time since I've got a way to recharge it without a power outlet. A set of 4 batteries tends to last for two full recharges of my DS before I need to get new ones.

    Just throwing it out there as an option rather than bringing two separate systems with you for the sake of battery life.
     
  16. Shadow#1

    Member Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,107
    Country:
    United States
    its easier to just have a spare two charged dslite batteries with u less bulk that way
     
  17. Kalisiin
    OP

    Member Kalisiin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains-Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks.
    But, see, that's also why I'm so into portability. Because I carry two different systems.
    I take this huge canvas tote bag to work...in it, there are my two gaming systems, my purse, my cigarettes (yes we get to smoke in the office because everyone in the whole office smokes, so we told the state to take their law and shove it) my music CD's (well, they are, of course, actually MP3's, but...) all that and some snack food like maybe donuts or chips or cookies...and I'm good for my overnight shift.
    If it's cold, the other hand has coffee...and if it isn't, then I get my blue Mountain Dew.
    In short, I have what is probably every person on this forum's dream job.

    Basically, I get paid to listen to music, smoke, eat, drink, play video games...and answer a phone about once every half hour. The thing is, though, staying awake for when that call comes in...and knowing how to handle it is critical, since often I am dealing with life/death situations on those calls. For example, someone having a heart attack calling their doctor. If I don't get that call, or handle it right, someone might die. That's why staying awake...is really what I get paid for.

    And any means I can use to stay awake...my boss approves of.
     
  18. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Which I understand. I'm just trying to give you an option so you don't have to carry two systems. You can just carry the DS, which can play GBA games as it is, and use that all night and take advantage of the DS's greater SNES emulation capabilities. Ah well, that's about all I've got.
     
  19. J B L

    Newcomer J B L Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    When I use snesadvance.exe to build the SNESAdvance.gba file, when I try to load the rom with VisualBoyAdvance, it gets "stuck" in the menu, all buttons are non-responsive. I don't know what i'm doing wrong. Any and all help is appreciated.

    TIA,
    JBL
     

Share This Page