SnemulDS - Graphic Errors?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Areo, Apr 9, 2008.

Apr 9, 2008

SnemulDS - Graphic Errors? by Areo at 5:00 AM (4,551 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Areo
    OP

    Newcomer Areo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm using SnemulDS on my M3 Real, and I keep running into graphic errors, namely with Earthbound. I've played with the graphic settings on the bottom enough to make the sprite layering (generally) work, but its completely different when it comes to the battles. Any non-boss fight there's a large pink or orange bar going across the screen horizontally where the enemy should be, and I can't seem to get rid of it...any suggestions?
     
  2. gillman

    Newcomer gillman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a quote straight from the SNEmulDS Compatibility PHWiki,

    "Earthbound

    v.5b-Boss battles suffer from very bad graphical glitches, but if you simply goto GFX config, then hit the (auto on/off) button in the middle right of the screen, they are playable, but PSI attacks arn't displayed correctly still. Game crashes are very minimal, and text is now displayed correctly. A minor problem is that there are some layering issues, with the sprites appearing on top of everything always, but overall the game is fine and completely playable."

    The graphical problems are only minor as with many other emulated SNES games.

    Check here for the entire compatibility list.
     
  3. Areo
    OP

    Newcomer Areo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Quick reply thar!

    Hm. I'm not having problems with sprites on top of anything (besides an occasional tree), and its the regular fights that suffer the graphical glitches, bosses are fine. Interesting. Auto on/off? I'll try it anyway, though I feel like I have before.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Keep in mind that that's for v0.5 Beta. The toggling of automatic settings may do different things in v0.6 Alpha.
     
  5. Cheesemonkey

    Newcomer Cheesemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    SNES emulation on the DS is shit. Okay compatibility, lots of glitches, and layering troubles. It's not terrible but it's generally playable.

    Earthbound works, though. Unlike Super Metroid, Star Fox, etc. I would say you're just gonna have to live with it. Unless there's some new magical version I don't know about.
     
  6. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    I would say SNES emulation on the NDS is in its infancy. I personally would never be so rude as to call the amount of time and effort to code an emulator on the NDS as "shit." Eventually when there is more time for fixes and updates you will start to see a great emulator emerge. There is a very real chance that SNES emulation on the NDS will die out without every hitting a good level of compatibility and playability. We saw this happen with Slot2 emulation, where currently only Dwedit and FluBBa are maintaining their builds.

    -Another World
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I played through a good portion of Super Metroid in v0.5 Beta a while back. Not the entire game of course, but enough to classify it as being playable.
     
  8. Areo
    OP

    Newcomer Areo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, its .06a. I've got the settings like this:
    Priory per tile for: BG2
    Block Priority: off
    Blank tile: 0 0 0
    X Automatic Ordering
    BG0 0
    BG1 1
    BG2 2
    BG2(low) 3
    Sprites 0 0
    Sprites 1 0
    Sprites 2 2
    Sprites 3 1

    When in a battle, if I keep clicking "Fix Graphics" quickly I can make out the enemy behind the pink bar, but it doesn't stay that way...
     
  9. Cheesemonkey

    Newcomer Cheesemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not being rude or ridiculing any of the developers right now, what makes you think that?

    Just because something is new doesn't mean we have to be nice to it and say it's perfect. Current DS SNES emulation isn't that good. The developers are doing their best, I can see that. But putting it nicely never did anyone any good. If we say that all a dev needs to do it to is to make a few versions and fixes, he'll never get to making that because he'll assume everyone thinks that the current version is good enough.

    Yes, DS SNES emulation is shit. No, I'm not being rude and saying that the work of a coder is shit. I'm saying that the current progress of SNES emulation is pretty shitty. Not the program itself.

    Also, signing your posts makes you look like a presumptuous cock. We know it's you, there's a name right there :S
     
  10. Sweater Fish Del

    Member Sweater Fish Del GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    With SNES emulation on the DS, you're running up against hardware limitations of the DS itself. For an amateur hobbyist programmer, hardware rendering ir really the only way to get full speed with SNES emulation, but the way the SNES and DS tilemap renderers are just too different for hardware rendering to handle priorities perfectly in all games at least without some serious game-specific hacks (which I'm sure archeide would gladly accept your help on, Cheesemonkey).

    However, many SNES games do play and dsiplay perfectly. My suggestion is that people open up their horizons and explore the SNES's incomparably deep library a little more than whatever top 10 list on IGN everyone apparently read to find out what SNES games are good.


    ...word is bondage...
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    eh you don't have to say its perfect, i just don't think its proper to call it "shit." i recognize that it doesn't run correctly and probably never will but viewing the source for 20min and you won't call it 'shit' you'll call it beta =)

    i sign my posts because i'm an older chap. we learned to write letters properly, it is a sign of respect.

    -another world
     
  12. suprneb

    Member suprneb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    from a total noob's experience, just play around with the settings you have if you dont have exact details [​IMG]
     
  13. dawn.wan

    Member dawn.wan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    lols... my old boss gave me that same 'excuse' about indenting paragraphs...
     

Share This Page