SNEmulDS 0.4 Final Released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Mar 12, 2007.

Mar 12, 2007

SNEmulDS 0.4 Final Released by Opium at 5:11 AM (11,473 Views / 0 Likes) 107 replies

  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia







    SNEmulDS 0.4 Final Released

    Out of beta








    [​IMG]



    Archeide's has released an impressive update for SNEmulDS, which brings it to version 0.4 Final. This new version of the popular SNES emulator increases compatibility and stability along with various bug fixes and new features. It's always great to see SNES emulators taking steps forward on the DS as they are one of the most sought after emulators for the system.




    Be sure to patch the file with DLDI before use. As always download your latest homebrew locally from GBAtemp below.



    [​IMG] Download



    [​IMG] Homepage



     


  2. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    holy shit, downloading!

    hes a machine!
     
  3. yee

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Things just keep getting better and better [​IMG]
     
  4. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    DKC works, not sure if it did in the last version..

    but i cant get SF2 working. it still has the same bug. once that bug's gone a ton of other games will surely to work
     
  5. Foie

    Member Foie That one guy

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    Clackamas, Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    And now the obligatory question:

    Can it play Earthbound and/or Chrono Trigger well?
     
  6. ravenous

    Newcomer ravenous Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I have a problem with this release, no matter what game I load, I get nothing but a white upper screen.
     
  7. Lurick

    Newcomer Lurick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for posting about the update; as an R4 owner, SnemulDS is basically my one-and-only option for SNES emulation. I'm glad the updates come so rapidly!
     
  8. yee

    Member yee DOTA 4EVER

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Earthbound played well except for some background glitches/layer issues in the last version.
     
  9. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    chrono trigger still hasn't changed. still buggy with txt and sound is garbled
     
  10. Sick Wario

    Member Sick Wario Club Nintendo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,209
    Location:
    NNID: godrugal
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    uniracers now boots?! incredible
     
  11. Bentso

    Newcomer Bentso Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Finland
    How's the speed of this emulator?
     
  12. johno84

    Newcomer johno84 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone tried F-zero on this release yet? Last version it was a bit messed up.
     
  13. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    SF2 Turbo runs much better, anyone got any settings to make the backgrounds look as good as possible? I've managed to get them pretty stable without glitching all over the place by enabling wait vblank but they're still quite funky.

    Anyone found any half decent game that works flawless?

    EDIT: Bomberman 3 works very well.
     
  14. Lurick

    Newcomer Lurick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    It still is ... turning on Vblank results in an unplayable mess of glitchy graphics, and leaving it off is better ... but not much.
     
  15. -EX-

    Banned -EX- Racer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Country:
    Japan
    WOW!

    Castlevania Dracula X now RUNS very well (fullspeed). With minor bg glitches on the first level though (complicated burning effect, just turn off BG3).

    Demon's Crest runs almost PERFECT! Turn vblank on though, so the background won't shake.

    Many games now work very well. I'm sure we'll have a very good SNES emulator in 2-3 months, that's just incredible. No need for PSP now.
     
  16. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has problems with games that have text boxes sometimes they hide behind objects. No probs so far with Super Mario World, Zelda, Contra 3, Donkey Kong Country 3, Zombies Ate My Neighbours.

    EDIT: Compatibility list yar, list isnt complete but good for now.
     
  17. Nuudoru

    Newcomer Nuudoru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Sweden
    AWESOME. I'm going to try out some games later. [​IMG]
     
  18. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    This man is a freaking god in my book!

    Here's some games i've tried

    Uniracers - Now boots and runs at good speed without vblank on. However, graphics seem to mess up after a little while in play (numbers pop out etc)

    Road Runner - Boots and you can now actually see the playing char. But the background is messed up (doesn't follow properly)

    Legend of the Mystical Ninja - Seems to be fully playable with some background setting tweaks, only played to the first boss but so far so good.

    U.N Squadron - As before, background doesn't follow properly at the bottom of the screen. But other than that it's fully playable.

    Final Fight Guy - Now works, but the background doesn't appear when you have vblank on. But it shows perfectly when you have it off. Fully playable without vblank and no speed hacks (speed is normally around 100% but sometimes goes up to around 115%)

    Knights of the Round - Perfectly playable (didn't boot up in prev versions)

    Final Fantasy 2 - Still messed up text

    Batman and Robin - Doesn't even get to the title screen now. It played perfectly in the prev version with a high chance of game freezing before.

    Simpsons Virtual bart - Freezes before getting to title screen

    Street fighter 2 - You can now see gameplay, but background is messed up (doesn't matter)

    Battletoads in Battlemaniac - You can actually get to gameplay now but nothing works, unplayable.

    Hook - Doesn't boot

    Those are my tests so far, I tried pretty much all possible combinations and settings to run the game perfectly with speed and tile settings. But I would still recommend others trying the ones I had problems with, maybe you will get it running with a different rom files or something [​IMG]
     
  19. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Super Mario World is working pretty much perfectly [​IMG] Great work by the author.
     
  20. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    ok i put the emu on my card and i made a directory named snes on my card also

    i put on super street fighter 2.smc

    but nothing i get a white screen and it says i have no files in m y snes directory ?

    anyone know why ?
     

Share This Page