SNEmulDS 0.4 Alpha Released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Opium, Feb 20, 2007.

Feb 20, 2007

SNEmulDS 0.4 Alpha Released by Opium at 5:15 AM (6,207 Views / 0 Likes) 51 replies

  1. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia







    SNEmulDS 0.4 Alpha Released

    SNES emulator for DS








    [​IMG]



    After a long break between releases SNEmulDS author archeide has updated his emulator to v0.4 Alpha. This version integrates the CPU engine of SnezziDS along with a host of new updates which give the emulator a big jump in speed.




    [​IMG] Download



    [​IMG] Homepage





     


  2. supermauerbros

    Newcomer supermauerbros Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Happy Birthday to me! Now I need to get a slot-1 as a present. EZ-V with 3-1, R4, or wait for M3 Real. Decisions, decisions. Anyway, my thanks go out to the developers of Snezzi and SNEmulDS. Amazing work. Amazing.
     
  3. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Would be good to know how this compares to the latest SnezziDS.
     
  4. mirun100

    Newcomer mirun100 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    I havent really dabbled in SNES emulators in the past but any word on the compatibility rates of this? Icant seem to find it on the official site. Thanks in advance.
     
  5. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    there are still a lot of graphical and sound glitches from my experience. it's not really worth playing any games yet, but it's great for testing to see how far things are along.

    The speed is pretty good though [​IMG]
     
  6. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Is this version of SNEmulDS better than SneeziDS? I haven't had time to try it out.
     
  7. skullstatue

    Banned skullstatue Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    When did this happen? This is fantastic news, at least we know it's still alive and kicking, and that the developer has made a huge step with Mode 7 implementation. This is great, this guy is probably going to pull off the (almost) perfect SNES emulator for the DS. [​IMG]
     
  8. Scorpin200

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Does this thing even work?
     
  9. GexX2

    Member GexX2 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    517
    Location:
    Tennesee, US
    Country:
    United States
    yar. it do.
     
  10. Adhrast

    Newcomer Adhrast Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    i patched it with the dldi for my sc sd and i put the snemulds.nds file in the root, and the roms in the "snes" directory. but when i star the emu, it says it can't find the games o.0
    has anybody happened to make it work?
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Adhrast take a look around GBAdev and supercard support sites as there are various prototype DLDI patches to sort various issues. I have no SC so I can not be more specific.

    New emulators are always good and while I have never really played the game (put the pitchforks and torches down) I will start with the how does chrono trigger run?
     
  12. Opium
    OP

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    put the roms in a folder called 'SNES' and have that folder in the root of your card.

    Try making the folder name all capitals, worked for me.
     
  13. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    works a lot better than the last release, super metroid is more playable, but still very slow, and star fox actually boots now, I can play it even, just can't see anything [​IMG]
     
  14. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    ok... got it working for my EZ4.
    patched with dldi then did the cory trick... and UN Squadron boots.
    tho the music plays decently.. but isn't great [​IMG]
    the ingame is GREAT until monster start coming. definatly needs working on the music engine. [​IMG] and the screen flips back n forth... but it's playable! [​IMG]
    Ninja Gaiden works.. but there is no sound whatsoever. the game runs buttslow... but after playing a bit the music starts, and it actually sounds GREAT!!! all sound is great.. but the scrolling is wacko and that's about it.
    setting option Wait vblank seems to fix the scrolling issue. and setting squish more made the game run best... loading seems to be really slow tho.
    * Chrono Trigger boots. even tho running slightly slow, works [​IMG]
    tho theres random garbled gfx which appears every now and then... i didn't try it too far...
    * Shadow Run started with sound off, but locks at the main menu. [​IMG]
    * Lufia 2 boots... works pretty well.. but gfx during battle is gone (the enemy and the battle commands), and the game runs terribly slow during this part [​IMG]
    * Secret of Mana... Layer problems... Intro looked great, and music had disturbances. mode7 map worked in beginning partially.. [​IMG] half the screen looked awesome half looked shit.. [​IMG] What's most funny is I named myself "HI" without seeing the naming letters. [​IMG] so read the intro text was kinda fun. Game ran kinda good.. but the music is garbled.
    * Super Metroid didn't work with any sound.
    * Punch Out locked the emulator
    * Super Probotector runs awefully good.. even tho slowdowns at some places.. the game runs great... i'd say whole level 1 is fully playable.. even tho the tank is invisible among other funny things [​IMG] guess what, even the mode7 gameplay works! [​IMG]
    * Live a Live locked up the emulator
    * Castlevania: Vampires Kiss locked up the emu after pressing NEW GAME
    * Castlevania X locked the emu when pressing NEW GAME
    * Super Castlevania IV runs terribly good... only played a bit on the first level... the music took awhile before it started.
    * Blackthorn wouldn't start if I didn't turn of the music. even so nothing happened when I pressed NEW GAME. tho emu was still alive.
    * Kirby's Avalanche.. works great.. disable backgrounds to be able to see the blobs falling down.
    * Rudora's Secret Treasure...works.. but u can't see any text. pretty hard to play since the players sprites were drawn beneath almost everything [​IMG]
    * Secret of Mana 2... Boots, u can pick characters and everything. can see the cool mode7 stuff going on [​IMG]
    after that.. u can't see shit [​IMG] I didn't have patience to wait and see if anything good would happen [​IMG]
    * Terranigma... would not start.
     
  15. stupid2ass

    Newcomer stupid2ass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Cambodia
    i have the DS Simply. I can't get this to start.
    I get the FS Failure then "No Files Found"

    I have the emu in the root of the card and I have a "SNES" folder with the smc files in that folder as well. The SNES folder is at the root of the microSD. I don't know how much simpler the instructions are yet it's not working. I shouldn't have to DLDI patch this for the DS simply, right?
     
  16. stupid2ass

    Newcomer stupid2ass Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Cambodia
  17. sylver78

    Newcomer sylver78 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    France
    I can remember that Axelay was almost playable with previous version but all mode 7 stuff wasn't displaying [​IMG] I guess it should work great now [​IMG]
     
  18. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    This is great! I found the previous version to run pretty good speedwise (75-100% speed with speedhack) so this should actually make most games playable speedwise. Summer vacation isn't that far off and maybe then he will try and fix the layers/graphics.. now that would truly make my day [​IMG]

    Gj Arch!
     
  19. Adhrast

    Newcomer Adhrast Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Italy
    chrono trigger goes almost full speed sometimes 0.0 can't believe the progress this guy has made, i can play chrono trigger on my ds!!

    EDIT: nay, graphic issues when teher's a dialog [​IMG]
     
  20. Gim

    Newcomer Gim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    am i doing something wrong here.. patched it to work on my R4, seems to bootup fine. i choose to playmario kart and it comes up with a white nintendo logo on a black screen then stops doing anything.. is this something to do with me or is the emu just not able to play this game?

    thanks
     

Share This Page