"Snemul is not dead" - Archeid

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by granville, Jun 18, 2008.

Jun 18, 2008
  1. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    According to Archeid's DS page for SnemulDS (which I assume is intended to tell about the DS port), Snemul is merely on hold and he will pick it up again soon after he's less busy:

    http://www.snemul.com/ds/

    "No SNEmul is not dead, it’s simply sleeping. I Hope I will have more time later to fix bugs and add improvements to the emulator, but it’s not really possible for the moment.

    Due to a change in the MySql from my provider, Wordexpress was not working correctly since some months. I was hoping that the bug will get fix itself but it seems I needed to upgrade Wordexpres. Anyway it seems ok now…"

    This message was just released on June 18. It's good to hear that he's still alive.
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent news to hear, thanks for the heads up.

    Also, hopefully now that the blog is fixed people will stop downloading v0.3 by accident.
     
  3. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dammit its a good emulator.
    Can't wait till the naxt update.
    isn't there supposed to be cheat support next release?
     
  4. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I assume he's speaking of updating the DS version as it's on the DS page. He simply calls it Snemul though. Maybe he's gotten motivated due to all the higher level emulators like NeoDS and JenesisDS lately. I can't wait to see what he's got in store, but it'll probably be awhile. It was definitely nice of him to tell us he's still going to work on it again. Just updating and saying it's not dead is great news. I was beginning to think something bad may have happened to him since his page went weird and he's been out of touch.
     
  5. PizzaPasta

    Member PizzaPasta Son of p1ngpong

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    That's great news! Let's bombard his PayPal with donations!
     
  6. ben_not_benny

    Member ben_not_benny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I can't wait for the updates. snemulds is really great.
     
  7. SylvWolf

    Member SylvWolf Ave Dominus Nox

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It'll be great to see this emulator updated, all the DS emulators are getting better and better.
     
  8. knightguy363

    Member knightguy363 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Australia
    omfg Ive been waiting to hear this news [​IMG]
     
  9. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    yes!! i hope it comes out soon as this rocks and works best
     
  10. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    The first DS Emulator that literally blew my mind away.
    Im glad it's not dead, even if it may take a while to get updated. It's a relief to hear that the project hasn't been abandonded [​IMG]
     
  11. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the posted of the update!
     
  12. sarah3585

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I downloaded this yesterday had some problems with donkey kong country trying to save. Can you save normally with these Emulators (like the game intended) or do you have to use the save slots?
     
  13. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    You can save normally yes. If it won't save for you, go into the Options menu and make sure auto-sram is checked. This is the feature that detects when a game saves and backs it up automatically to your microSD card. This feature was new for 0.6 so make sure you get that version. You'll be able to tell if it's working. When you save a game, text should appear at the bottom of the touch screen (unless you switch it off) that says auto-sram saving. It'll disappear in a few seconds but reappears whenever it detects a save being made.

    I found that savestates are rather broken in the Donkey Kong Country games. It'll load them, but will freeze if you enter a new area than the one you saved states in. That can be bypassed by disabling the sound, but who'd WANT to do that.
     
  14. sarah3585

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, after I try to use a save state it freezes. Now when I load up the game (not using the save state) bits of the environment and text are missing. How can I get them back? Delete the ROM and put it back on?
     
  15. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    That's a bit weird. Here's some possible steps. Try each one in successive order to see which one works before trying the next one:

    First try going into the Advanced icon and tap the "fix" icon to see if it clears the corruption up. This clears the graphics cache and fixes some of the random graphics corruption seen in games.

    Try deleting the savestate files (they are SM0 files where 0 can be substituted for any number. Stored in the SNES folder). I heard that the SnemulDS configuration for each game is stored in their savestate (but I could be wrong).

    If that doesn't work, try deleting the srm file for that particular game (stored in the SNES folder). You'll lose your battery save for that game, but it might fix the corruption if it's a saving issue.

    If it still doesn't work, try removing the rom and reload it onto your microSD.

    If that doesn't work, delete the SnemulDS sav file.

    If it STILL doesn't work, replace the SnemulDS nds file and possibly the CFG file that goes along with it.

    If it STILL STILL STILL doesn't work, you might have to reformat your microSD card, but one of these tips SHOULD help. Back up all your files from your microSD to your computer HD becuase formatting will delete all files from the microSD.

    These are all the possible steps that could fix the problem, but try each one at a time to isolate the issue. Hope it helps!
     
  16. sarah3585

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks I'll try thoses steps.

    It also happens with mario all stars when I quit the game and go back to the menu. It's only the menus that are messed up the game itself is fine.
     
  17. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    SnemulDS is notorious for graphical glitches, but you seem to only have developed them AFTER you did something to it. Just be careful what you do.
     
  18. sarah3585

    Newcomer sarah3585 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seemed to of fixed the problem but still get graphical weirdness but it's playable now.

    Thank you.
     
  19. prince3r

    Newcomer prince3r Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the update. [​IMG]
     
  20. granville
    OP

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Like I said, random graphical glitches are pretty normal with SnemulDS. Always use the fix button under Advanced to see if that clears it up. It'll probably get better when Archeid updates it later. One thing with the DKC games I have noticed is that setting the Vblank setting to ON seems to make the graphics less jittery.

    Just curious, but which step fixed the problem?
     

Share This Page