Small question about IOS36

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jelmew, Mar 5, 2010.

Mar 5, 2010

Small question about IOS36 by jelmew at 6:52 PM (600 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. jelmew
    OP

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi all.

    I recently softmodded the wii, correctly following the stickied guide, also downgrading IOS 15 and installing IOS 36 After being done I inserted some retail disc to see or they were still fully functional. De disc (I'll take wii sport resort as example) prompted me to update. Since I had already installed bootmii as boot 2 and I had made a Nand-backup, i could felt I could safely update. After that, all retail-discs, booted as normal. However, my question now is, what did the update do? Did it overwrite any downgraded IOS? And if that's the case, can it do any harm to an currently perfectly functional wii.

    Greetings,
    Jelmew
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Did you restore IOS15 after patching IOS36? If not, your IOS15 had a lower revision than the IOS15 on disc ==> the game prompts to update and updates IOS15 again. This shouldn't harm, but if you plan on using discs in the disc channel, you should consider using priiloader and a skip disc update check hack.
     
  3. jelmew
    OP

    Member jelmew GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Will do that, thanks for answering.
     

Share This Page