Slowdown with Acekard 2i (even with a Class 6 card)

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Hammyface, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. Hammyface
    OP

    Member Hammyface GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    I have a very strange problem with my Acekard 2i. I just received it the other day from an authorized retailer and I tried new and custom firmwares which did me no good. I get slow down in some games. However, it's a bit weird. I do NOT get slowdown in the Castlevania intro as most would expect. I get slowdown in things like screen fades and sound stutters. For example, when I press start in Kirby and the screen fades, the sound becomes choppy and crackly for a few seconds. Figuring it was just one game and no big deal, I tried out GTA Chinatown Wars and the game is a mess. From the beginning you see the plane stutter and graphics as you drive around stutter as well. I still have my CycloDS for my DSLite (I bought the Acekard 2i for my DSi) and the problem is NOT there...so I know it's not my MciroSD card nor the ROM to blame.

    I tried every option available to no avail. Any tips? I read many reviews saying this card has no slowdown, which I would agree with too after it passes the Castlevania test. But it's definitely stuttering/slowing down in quite a few games (especially games you wouldn't expect it in). Any help gang? Thanks!
     
  2. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
  3. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    do a fresh format using the panasonic formatter, if dma modes and shutting off patches doesn't fix your problems.

    -another world
     
  4. Hammyface
    OP

    Member Hammyface GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Vermont
    Country:
    United States
    The format advice worked swimmingly. Thank you!
     
  5. gramin

    Newcomer gramin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    I've discovered GTA:CW runs a bit sluggish when I have a 3-4 star rating.

    I originally had the card formatted with panasonic formatter, now I've got it formatted with 16k cluster size using windows. Still runs about the same.

    I have a legit version of the game to compare it to, and sometimes this happens even on that.

    So I guess it's the game sometimes too.
     

Share This Page