Slow Servers?

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Raven Darkheart, Mar 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Mar 5, 2009

Slow Servers? by Raven Darkheart at 6:39 PM (2,685 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Raven Darkheart
    OP

    Member Raven Darkheart The Radioactive Flamer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Cyclo DS Paradise
    Country:
    United States
    its been really laggy for me at least ever since the server change and i never lag on this site. so itit just the kinks with the new server?
     


  2. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    o is there a new server? its slow for me too

    edit: 2222th post O.O
     
  3. ItsMetaKnight

    Member ItsMetaKnight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Denmark
    Switch back.
     
  4. Noitora

    Member Noitora ::

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,768
    Location:
    Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    Probably the move hasn't finished hence the slow speeds? It happens every time... Why does the server gets changed once in a while? :/
     
  5. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Narins on so its obviously being worked on, patience people, our internet crack will be back!
     
  6. Raven Darkheart
    OP

    Member Raven Darkheart The Radioactive Flamer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Cyclo DS Paradise
    Country:
    United States
    i rebooted my router as i thought it was an issue on my end...... *is a dunce*
    hell i just saw that i posted this thread in the wrong forum
    god im a dumbass
     
  7. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Lmao I did the same thing, even though every other site and service I was using was running at full speed! [​IMG]
     
  8. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry guys we're experiencing a few technical hiccups while we get the new server sorted out. Stay tuned!
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    So thats why its so slow
    I already tried changing skins but no luck (not that I expected that)
    and reseted my modem several times
    hope it gets faster soon...
     
  10. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Glad I saw the thread. Thought something was wrong with my internet.
     
  11. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, ever since the new sever it's been really slow.
     
  12. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    also, theres this:
    [​IMG]
     
  13. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I was on IRC this morning and WildWon (I think) told me that the servers were being moved over to a cheaper host because the admins couldn't afford it anymore (among other reasons). He also said they might close down registrations for a while :< But he was probably kidding.
     
  14. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Closing registrations? Oooh, gonna make GBAtemp exclusive, huh? [​IMG]
    It'd be cool and lame at the same time. It'd be cool for us because we're exclusive. It'd be lame for those who need help but are unable to get it due to not being able to sign up for the forums.
     
  15. BMasterP

    Member BMasterP GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    DOESBURG
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Tnxx for this post, cos it is really annoying browsing the gbatemp forums this way, realy thought that it was a problem on my end until i tryed 2 different pc's on different ips's.
    hoping the speed will come back the way it was
     
  16. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    The issue with the forum at the moment is that the sites server provider is experiencing network problems. Last time Costello spoke about it on irc he said at least one of their routers are down. Not much that can be done on this end, so we all have to be patient until the problem is resolved.
     
  17. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    lol, until you said that i didn't even noticed, i am used to slow internet [​IMG]

    i even cant see the main page, is that for everyone or just my problem?
     
  18. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's kinda strange though, last night (around 6-8PM EST) the site was loading very quickly for me and I thought the issues were finally ironed out. Now, it's worse than it was before. What's that all about?
     
  19. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I assume the server will be having its ups and downs until the issues are fixed. Is it a server move...? I dunno, seems to me something needs repaired or replaced.
     
  20. BMasterP

    Member BMasterP GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    DOESBURG
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yesss server speeds are ok now, tnxx people from gbatemp, especially the one responsible for all the hours and hard work you've put into this. i can finally browse the complete forum in the same time it took me to refresh my page so that i could browse one post [​IMG]

    tnxx
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page