Slot 2 device

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by pizzalogic4477, Jul 29, 2008.

Jul 29, 2008

Slot 2 device by pizzalogic4477 at 4:47 PM (1,613 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. pizzalogic4477
    OP

    Newcomer pizzalogic4477 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a Cyclo, and it works great. I would like to start playing some GBA roms, but I know I cant with out a slot 2 device. Which do you recommend? And does it run the games from the slot 1, or do the roms run from slot 2?
     
  2. pokemongalaxy

    Banned pokemongalaxy Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    717
    Country:
    Canada
  3. PizzaPasta

    Member PizzaPasta Son of p1ngpong

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    I have both the EZ Flash 3 in 1 and the Ewin Expansion Pak. Both are great but the EEP is a little cheaper.

    I got my 3in1 from Gameyeeah and my EEP from Sky2k.

    Check the reviews for both of these here:

    EEP

    3in1 Scroll down to the 3 in 1 section
     
  4. imz

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The EZ flash 3 in 1 is all you need and it's easy to use, I got mine free from gaming lagoon (below in sig) but you can also buy it very cheaply
     
  5. john.jingle

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a GBA Flash cart that can be played from microsd chips?

    I'm not aware of such a cart's existence but if I can't find one, I'll be going with a EZFlash 3 in 1. I just really want to be able to play some GBA games on a GBA, ya know?
     
  6. MysteriousCookie

    Newcomer MysteriousCookie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Australia
    i think m3 lite might have a micro sd slot
     
  7. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    M3 Lite Perfect is using microSD up to 2 GB..
    However, you have to flash GBA games on the microSD, and it doesn't run GBA games from slot 1!
     
  8. john.jingle

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, and I would also like to know about cheating function of GBA carts. Does CycloDS+Slot-2 device support AR or GS cheats?
     
  9. hdofu

    Member hdofu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, it doesn't support either of those formats.
     
  10. evoo1

    Member evoo1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Vienna
    Country:
    Austria
  11. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada

    m3 lite perfect sounds most like what you're looking for (I have one paired with a cyclo as well)

    you do need to load the games onto the cart via the game manager, but it's a pretty simple process
     
  12. Ryukouki

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    hey ToniPlutonij i got a question for you. sorry to the original poster of the topic but i needa ask this: You said that "M3 Lite Perfect is using microSD up to 2 GB..
    However, you have to flash GBA games on the microSD, and it doesn't run GBA games from slot 1!" Could you explain this to me? I'm getting my M3 lite in a couple of days and that statement made me kinda scared. I got the GBA games, the cheat files, and M3 Game Manager v36a. What will i need to do from this point on?

    Again, my apologies to the TP but it needed to be asked. I hope i did not steal your topic or anything. Sorry if i did
     
  13. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not anything to be worried about. microSD cards are too slow to run GBA games from; DS games have a lower read speed, so it's (usually) fine to run games from microSDs for those, but NOR (the stuff in GBA (flash) carts) is much faster, so the M3 Lite has to flash the games to NOR before you can play them. Takes a couple of minutes tops, you'll survive.
     
  14. shaosam

    Newcomer shaosam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Minutes? I've got a M3 Lite and play GBA roms all the time with it. The largest GBA roms are 32 MB and they load up in about 15 seconds, tops.
     
  15. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah, my bad, it must just load them to PSRAM. Well, even less of a problem, then.
     
  16. Ryukouki

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    *sighs with relief* yay u make me feel much better now =) thanks
     

Share This Page