Hacking slot-1 or slot-2

geckoguy

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Im new to DS homebrew and wanted to know if i should go with a slot 1 or 2 device. my main problem is that the slot 2 devices are losing support but slot 1 devices cant recover your firmware with flashme. should i just get a slot-1 like a R4 and a cheap slot-2 to fix my DS if it bricks?

Edgedancer

Director of Moon based operations
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Where did you hear that the slot-2 carts can fix firmware. An application that recovers firmware, Flashme, can be run from a slot 1 cartridge, ut you should get a slot-2 cart as well as you have access to a large selection of GBA games as well.

geckoguy

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
can the flashme recovery be ran from slot 1. what i meant is that most FAQs state that the flashme recovery works with slot 2 but doesnt mention slot 1. so i had the impression i need a slot 2 device to use flashmes recovery mode.

paul3100

Trophies
XP
Country
You can use slot 1 cards to install flashme as i have done it several times without any problems.

QUOTE said:
should i just get a slot-1 like a R4 and a cheap slot-2 to fix my DS if it bricks

Please don't buy an R4! They are old, no new updates for them and are features so newer games have problems playing on it.
You should think about purchasing a supercard SDHC or cyclods which are only £20/$40 ish now from dealxtreme.com with free shipping.

As for a slot 2 card i wouldn't go buying it just in case your ds needs needs the bios flashed as its very very unlikely you will ever have any problems with it. But if you are getting one then most seem to like the EZ 3 in 1 which had rumble function, memory for use with opera browser and other homebrew & some storage space for gba games.

paul

geckoguy

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
paul3100 said:
You can use slot 1 cards to install flashme as i have done it several times without any problems.