Slot 1 and GBA Roms

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by BaHaMut_ZeR0, Dec 13, 2006.

Dec 13, 2006

Slot 1 and GBA Roms by BaHaMut_ZeR0 at 3:46 AM (1,375 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. BaHaMut_ZeR0
    OP

    Newcomer BaHaMut_ZeR0 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    So i'm interested in obtaining a slot 1 solution, but I have one question before doing so: Can slot 1 solutions run GBA images? Or is that only possible with slot 2? Or is it dependent on the slot1 firmware?

    I'd like to know, because I may need to plan a budget for snatching a slot2 flashcart. (Most slot1's act as passme's, anyway)
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Slot 1 cannot be accessed in GBA mode. The only way a slot 1 card will ever be able to run GBA roms is if someone writes a GBA emulator that runs in DS mode, and that's not going to happen. Even if someone wrote such an emulator the DS doesn't have enough ram to hold a GBA rom. Slot 1 is too slow to use for GBA games, so you would need a ram cart in slot 2.

    No matter what happens you will never be able to play GBA games on the DS without some sort of cart in slot 2.
     
  3. BaHaMut_ZeR0
    OP

    Newcomer BaHaMut_ZeR0 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thanks. I just needed clarification about that.
     
  4. sumpm1

    Newcomer sumpm1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    I bought my SuperCard Lite 2 weeks ago, and I was so pissed when I saw that they were coming out with all of these slot1 cards, and I was stck with this clunky pair. But then I realized that none of the slot1 cards could play GBA. GBA support is pretty big. Think about it, there are still no fighting games for DS, but plenty of options for the GBA. Sports games; all of the "GO TO" games for certain genres still remain with the GBA. I am happy that I can play them.
     
  5. vegetano1

    Newcomer vegetano1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How come a slot 1 is slower then slot 2??

    Well i know your right, but i still hope it will hapen someday!!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    It will not happen.

    Slot 2 is designed like a GBA slot, which requires the read access faster than how they designed the Slot 1 for DS. DS games are coded to run on at least Slot 1 speed. GBA games are coded to run at least Slot 2 speed.

    That's why you can run DS games from slot 2, but not GBA from slot 1. It's a simple hardware limitation.

    Can we get a fucking sticky thread in every sub-forum to get people to stop asking about fucking GBA support in slot 1 solutions? I'm sick of hearing people complain that slot 1 solutions don't support GBA...
     
  7. DSLite

    Newcomer DSLite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    One day it will be possible, sooner than you expect.
    Those who say it will not are mistaken.
    The theoretical noob talk about bandwidth issues and such is bullshit.

    Mark my words.
     
  8. kalibar

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but even if it is, who in the fuck cares? You're not using slot-2 for anything else, you'd might as well shove a god damn Chinese cart in there!
     

Share This Page