SLG3000

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Apr 16, 2011.

Apr 16, 2011

SLG3000 by Another World at 10:14 AM (6,366 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] SLG3000
    Scanlines are back!
    [​IMG]

    SLG3000, built by hand by Germany’s Arcade Forge, offers retro gamers the ability to add scanlines to modern televisions. The box sells for about $70 USD and takes 2-3 weeks to be constructed. For more information on VGA upscaling and the device itself, check the source link below.



    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Interesting but you still need to buy an external upscaller for others system than Dreamcast.

    A real plug and play solution for every systems would be perfect and an insta-buy for me . [​IMG]

    But the idea is there, and I guess it's just a matter of time before market gets invaded with many of those devices. scanlines FTW!
     
  3. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    Why would you want scanlines?!
     
  4. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    For nostalgia...
     
  5. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    On older systems it hides imperfections of the graphics and thus improves them, have a look at the website, there are some comparison.
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    That's awesome, but not as awesome as the CRT emulation Stella (Atari 2600 emu) implements.

    When we'll have a full hardware CRT emulator, then I'll surely buy one for my old consoles [​IMG]
     
  7. Zorua

    Zorua Newbie

    Its useless IMO. Why would someone want to spend 70$ to downgrade their picture quality? It might be nostalgic and all but it's pretty useless.....
     
  8. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Some wii games give this function for free:
    Twlight Princess/PoP Forgotten Sands on progressive mode, for example.

    Nice nostalgia device btw.
     
  9. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    this is the example from the source page. with scanlines you really need to see them in action to see how they help. everyone should remember that you don't train your eyes to see the scanlines, and you really don't see them until you are on top of the tv. what they do is make the graphics appear "sharper" around the edges, and yes it makes them feel right to nostalgic gamers.

    -another world
     
  10. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    This looks really interesting. This and an upscaler would be awesome, but they're a bit too expensive for me right now sadly [​IMG]
     
  11. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i am really surprised we still have ppl working on and interested in retro games and features (also the n64 as prev seen - not entirely retro)
     
  12. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems nice for novelty value, but it's not worth the $70 investment.
     
  13. war2thegrave

    Member war2thegrave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    It is if you collect arcade game boards. Even more so now that CRT arcade monitors are no longer being produced.
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,181
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you even want this? Just hook up the system to a CRT computer monitor.
     
  15. DryYoshi

    Member DryYoshi Love child of Dry Bones and Yoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Yoshi's Island
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Pretty expensive for normal people who don't care, but quite fun for nostalgic people.
     
  16. muckers

    Member muckers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Warwickshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sweet, always wanted my old games to look even worse.
     
  17. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    This is awesome, but way out of my budget [​IMG].
     
  18. RowanDDR

    Member RowanDDR SNES Lover

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was interested in this until I saw that it didn't output the native resolution of my TV and therefore not allow 1:1 pixel mapping (i suppose VGA doesnt support 1080p resolution). For arguments sake, most decent flatscreen tellys are 1080px high.. classic console games are often 240px heigh. 240 fits into 1080 four times, with a little left ofter. So ideally I would want the original image quadrupled, so that 240px heigh becomes 960 px heigh, using 2px for each line, 2px for each scanline. That would ensure pixels and scanlines are essentially 1:1 (well, 1:4) with the real pixels of the screen, which would keep them ridiculously sharp (shaper than on a CRT due to lack of "blooming" and geometry issues), and almost fill the entire screen height - having a small black border is a tiny price to pay for that.

    There are probably some really expensive scalers that can do this, I don't know which ones they are (anyone know?). MAME can do this, although I find the display settings in MAME confusing and it took me ages to get it working as I wanted it. When I did get it working, it was breathtaking - "arcade perfect". [​IMG]
     
  19. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Damn, they beat me.
    I had a similar, but much , much less expensive idea to simulate scanlines on any Tv or Monitor, without any resolution problem.
    I might be nostalgic, but I really like sprite based retro games displayed with scanlines.
    I had an hard time finding out the right options and right filters to simulate scanlines in MAME the way I like it, but unfortunately, not every emulator has so many options.
    And the Dreamcast.....it has great arcade ports, like MvC2, SFII, SFIII double impact, and the Apha series.
    I hook up my DC to my PC monitor, but even those games with decent looking pre-rendered backgrouds, have terrible pixelated sprites, so I'm really interested into this !
     
  20. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    $70 and you don't even get a decent enclosure?
    Meh... I like the way it looks without the scanlines anyway.


    Also... lol that the board + case separate is cheaper than board w/case
     

Share This Page