1. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    Indeed, that's a good trick. Rename everything to make it as short as possible while keeping it consistent and easy to understand, that's what I like to do with my files.
     
    VampireOniX likes this.
  2. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you both for the help! Did not at all even realize or think there was a character line limit. I'll post the results after i go through it tomorrow.
     
    WiiEJECT likes this.
  3. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    Glad we can help, dude. Let us know if that worked.
     
  4. ShadoGiow

    ShadoGiow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Italy
    What are the best mods you have? those that are indispensable to you :)
     
  5. Digi_Ohhh

    Digi_Ohhh GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't think I get this. Are you referring to the 1024 chars limit?
    Editors normally wrap long lines to make them easier to work with, but that's just a visual thing and they're not actually adding any characters to wrap them. If this were the limit, then having a bigger screen would mean being capable of bypassing it (I know it doesn't make any sense, this is just what I'm getting by reading your post).

    Also, I thought renaming mods could cause issues.
     
    ShadoGiow likes this.
  6. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    676
    Country:
    United States
    you can merge mods or rename bsa files to save on space
     
    Digi_Ohhh likes this.
  7. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    Exactly. Something I always recommend to people is to edit the ini files on your everyday Windows notepad instead of using any other software, since it will auto break a line when the limit is reached. That way, you know when you are overflowing the resources list. The screen size has nothing to do, but reading the file on a small device makes it really hard to spot the limit since you will have several line breaks.

    This is also a good practice. Merging mods by author or type will help you save space on the ini files.
     
    Digi_Ohhh likes this.
  8. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    Cheatroom now works. It was a character limit. Does anyone have the files for BS: Bruma they can post somewhere or a place where they can be found?
     
    Last edited by VampireOniX, Jul 3, 2020
    WiiEJECT likes this.
  9. Digi_Ohhh

    Digi_Ohhh GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Italy
    So you can only rename bsa files and not esp ones or anything else, right?
    Mind sharing a guide to merge mods? Can I merge mods already converted for Switch, or does it apply to PC mods only (which I'll have to convert afterwards)?
     
  10. ShadoGiow

    ShadoGiow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Italy
    Yeah I would also like to understand this... For now I have a setup that works with 1036 character line. But every add the game wont start and now i know the reason. It's possible to rename all the .bsa files without change the names of the .esp too?

    PS: As you can see, i have 1036 letters with "meshes.bsa" in another line.. but the game starts normally.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by ShadoGiow, Jul 4, 2020
  11. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    I renamed both the bsa and esp files. Everything will works 100%.
     
    Digi_Ohhh and ShadoGiow like this.
  12. ShadoGiow

    ShadoGiow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Italy
    Even if you took off the "meshes" phrase?
    I mean... if I have "Immersive weapon - Meshes.bsa" can i rename it "iw.bsa"? Or i must rename it "iw - Meshes.bsa"?

    Edit: Ok i renamed all my files and yes, it started frawlessly
     
    Last edited by ShadoGiow, Jul 4, 2020
  13. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    Who has Beyond Skyrim Bruma? Pale Pass isn't showing up when the game loads. Is it the same for you or do I need to see why it's not loading correctly?

    Also, I found only one mod so far that breaks if renamed.
     
    Last edited by VampireOniX, Jul 5, 2020
  14. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    You can rename everything. The ESP files are just a bunch of instructions while the BSA files contains textures, meshes, audio files and every other needed assets.
    The game loads everything into memory and then the ESP will use the needed materials if they are present (if not, it could go from not doing anything at all to crashing the game, depending on what the mod should do).
    Keeping the same name for the ESP and the BSAs is just a way to indentify the mod and manage it more easily.
     
    VampireOniX and Digi_Ohhh like this.
  15. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I am converting a few mods. During the conversion process I'm getting an error. "Error During Conversion of g:\switch\x\snx tk\data_convertedandpacked\textures\terrain\theshire\theshire.4.37.9_n.dds" There is a ton of them for the mod "The Shire". Anyone have any info? Should I ignore or should I not use this mod? Using 2.7.0 of the toolkit.
     
  16. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    Make sure you have Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86), Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable 2019 and Python 3.x installed. Then, go to the Scripts folder inside the Toolkit and execute the BAT file, just to make sure the Python path is correct.
    Aside that, you need a bunch of EXE files that doesn't come with the Toolkit and that you must find and download by yourself. Since I already have them, I packed my entire Utilities folder. You can download it here. Extract the entire content of that RAR inside the Utilities folder and overwrite when asked.
     
  17. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    i was missing the 2019 redist. Lets see if that fixes the issue. It was only that one mod out of like 10 tho. A curious question... Is it only my laptop or do converting the mods seem to take awhile? took like 9 hours for 23000 dds files alone.
     
  18. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    It depends on the mod AND the computer, yes. A big mod with thousands on heavy, high-quality textures and meshes will take a life to convert on a slow computer.
     
  19. VampireOniX

    VampireOniX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    United States
    I am starting to realize my overclocked i5-7200U is getting agely. lol
     
  20. WiiEJECT

    WiiEJECT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hey, if I can convert and repack mods on a 9 year old i3 380M, you can do anything :hateit:
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - working, confirm, Skyrim