Sky3DS or Gateway on New 3DS XL (9.7)?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Ichigo1000, May 7, 2015.

1. Ichigo1000
    OP

Ichigo1000 GBAtemp Fan

May 6, 2015
    United States
    What are the pros and cons? I heard Gateway recently got an update that will make it work on firmware 9.7.

From what I know (Please correct if I'm wrong):

Sky3DS:
    Pros
    -Works on all firmware to date
    -Fast Updates/Directly compatible to the next firmware update
    -Online Play
    -No DS flashcart needed
    -LED indicator
    -No need to execute exploit

Cons
    -Price
    -Game limit (31-32?)
    -No Cheats
    -Game cycling

Gateway:
    Pros
    -Custom Menu
    -More features
    -No game limit (?)
    -Cheaper
    -Online Play

Cons
    -Need to run exploit each use (?)
    -No Cheats (?)
    -Slow Updates (Haven't worked for 9.3-9.6)
    -Dead? (???)

Which one should I get, and is it worth it? Sorry if the info is wrong, as I have no experience with any of them, I've only heard about them.

2. controlio

controlio Member

Newcomer
    Aug 2, 2006
    Australia
    if your firmware is 9.7 your only option is skyds. gateway only works on firmware up to 9.2.

3. Dimensional

Dimensional GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Dec 7, 2008
    United States
    Texas
    Where have you heard Gateway might work on sysNand 9.7 soon? I want to know, because I have a Gateway that I've never been able to use. At all. I want to know what version it might work on soon, so I can update to before it's patched. All I know right now is that it has been updated to work with EmuNand 9.7, which isn't the same as sysNand, so please tell me where you heard about this.

4. controlio

controlio Member

Newcomer
    Aug 2, 2006
    Australia
    he probably means emunand support for 9.7 on old 3DS.

5. Ichigo1000
    OP

Ichigo1000 GBAtemp Fan

May 6, 2015
    United States
    Not sure, I read something about Gateway ULTRA 3.2 or something like that, I'm not so sure though.