Skipping the Nintendo boot screen, possible ?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by ak_, May 13, 2008.

May 13, 2008
  1. ak_
    OP

    Newcomer ak_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Country:
    France
    Is it possible to get rid of the Nintendo boot screen (this one) and boot directly to the linker menu ? I saw a video on youtube with a kid booting his ds lite and not having it. Maybe i'm crazy, maybe i didn't see very well, i don't know...

    Thanks [​IMG]
     


  2. santorix10

    Member santorix10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Rochester, NY - USA
    Country:
    United States
  3. ak_
    OP

    Newcomer ak_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Country:
    France
    Thank you [​IMG]

    Wow, i have to stick some metallic stuff in my DS to flash it, looks kinda tricky. I wouldn't like to brick my DS...

    Is it as dangerous as it looks like ?
     
  4. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can just use the setting to make the DS Lite load your NDS card straight away.
     
  5. santorix10

    Member santorix10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Rochester, NY - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Not really. Just cut off part of the pointy part of a toothpick and put aluminum foil over it, then insert it.
     
  6. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, it's as easy as that. Just make sure it goes in straight.
     
  7. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1. Switch on your DS.
    2. Press on the DS Lite in the middle of the screen at the menu
    3. Press on the 'spanner' tool.
    4. Press on the 'exit look like' logo.
    5. Select Auto.
    6. Select 'Confirm'.
    7. Restart your DS.
     
  8. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You've missed the point.
     
  9. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's just another easier way.
     
  10. ak_
    OP

    Newcomer ak_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Country:
    France
    Ok i did it, thanks guys ! Worked like a charm. I'm so glad i got rid of this stupid safety warning [​IMG]

    wilddenim> hum no, it doesn't work, i tried that before. Thanks anyway [​IMG]
     
  11. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes but that doesn't bypass the Nintendo Healthy and Safety screen which is what the OP wants.

    FlashMe shows no H&S screen and boots instantly to the slot-1 card.
     
  12. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    Also, you can get versions with not boot instantly and no health and safety screen bypass.
     
  13. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Also note this will void any warranty you currently have, so take that into account before you do this. If you go about this and mess up and brick your DS, Nintendo won't fix it.
     
  14. ak_
    OP

    Newcomer ak_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Country:
    France
    Well, as said earlier, i already did it [​IMG] But that's ok, i figured it would void the warranty. Everything went well.
     
  15. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not true. You can unflash at any time, and it's virtually impossible to brick your DS while flashing.
     
  16. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Unless you're stupid and stick the toothpick in at a wacky angle. I would flash mine, just too lazy. [​IMG]
     
  17. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I performed the following, non-invasive, non-flashing procedure on 2 DS Phats and 2 DS Lites and it gets rid of the Health & Safety screen. When I power up, the DS boots straight away to my SLOT-1 or SLOT-2 cart/game.

    1. Put your DS in Autoboot Mode
    2. Remove the battery for at least 15 seconds
    3. Take out ANY SLOT-1 or SLOT-2 cards
    4. Put the battery back in
    5. Power on and go through the setup steps (AT THE VERY END, DO NOT PRESS A OR CONFIRM TO POWER OFF)
    6. Power off with the Power Switch/Button
    7. Place your CycloDS or other card into your DS
    8. Turn on your DS and watch it boot straight into your cart

    One note: If you were to turn on your DS with nothing in both SLOT-1 and SLOT-2, it will go back into setup mode. If this happens, do not go through the setup, just power off.
     
  18. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    Only problem with this method being if you wanted to DS Download play, use Pictochat or setup DS settings you'd have to do the whole process again. Personally i'd flash it. There really isn't any warranty problems, if your DS bricks, chances are they'd have no idea WHY it's a brick, and replace it for you. For warranty repairs, just run flashme_stealth, (or noflashme).
     
  19. Rascal

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't read up on the Flashme process. Are you saying that it will skip the Health and Safety screen, yet still allow access to Pictochat, DS Download play, and setup?
     
  20. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page