Since Update V1.08

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by shatteredirony, Feb 9, 2008.

Feb 9, 2008

Since Update V1.08 by shatteredirony at 8:33 PM (2,763 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. shatteredirony
    OP

    Newcomer shatteredirony Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the game menu it seems to be scrolling slower and take a few seconds if you scroll using the slider bar at side to bring back up the games im going to try and reformat the card again but id like to know if other people are having the same problems as i am.

    Also hey to everyone just joined lol
     
  2. terminator99

    Member terminator99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Widnes,Cheshire.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dont use the slider with the pen, I just use the cursor keys to cycle thru the list. And it scrolls fast when using a SDHC. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  3. shatteredirony
    OP

    Newcomer shatteredirony Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I generally just use the d-pad but since i installed V1.08 there is major slow down i guess i should tell you what i have on it might give a better view on what maybe wrong.

    i use a 4gb san disc sdhc
    i have currently 52 games in total (i am thinking it might be this but using v1.07 i had no slow down whatsoever)

    an thats about it no music no films nothing just games and save files ive read a few posts round the board and a few mentioned sticking the games into individual folders and that might speed the process up but like i said v1.07 i had no problems with
     
  4. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Mine seems to go faster >__
     
  5. shatteredirony
    OP

    Newcomer shatteredirony Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah well ive thought sod it and have gone back to the 1.07 version see if there is any problems at all and im running a test as well by taking the action replay .dat file with it
     
  6. shatteredirony
    OP

    Newcomer shatteredirony Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i have found out i have now got the problem on the 1.07 version so i don't know whats going on anybody got any ideas i reformatted the card as per what everyone has said to do before using v1.08 and i have had nothing but problems since
     
  7. HereIsTom

    Newcomer HereIsTom Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Somewhere in the low countries
    Country:
    Netherlands
  8. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    format your card to a higher allocation size, i formated mine to 32kilobits allocation size and there is no lag whatsoever when scrolling through files
     
  9. Daimos

    Member Daimos Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Australia
    Make sure you don't format your card using Windows. You need a separate program in order to do it right.
     
  10. kratokrato

    Newcomer kratokrato Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    format to FAT16, it will scroll fast
     
  11. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im having the same problems so what program shall i use? Also games dont list alphabetically
     
  12. HereIsTom

    Newcomer HereIsTom Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Somewhere in the low countries
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try a full format and FAT16 and if that not work FAT32.
    First try it with a few games, if that work you can put more games on your card.
     
  13. ndsdave

    Newcomer ndsdave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Daimos, why do you say that? Is FAT not FAT?
     
  14. Grimalkin

    Member Grimalkin Waaaaaaaah!

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Country:
    Canada
    When Windows is formatting a drive, it is formatting it for use with Windows. Evidence is when you examine the FAT table and there are headers that lead the contents.

    Use Panasonic's SD Formatter 2.0

    It's free and it works well.
     
  15. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got Panasonic's SD Formatter 2.0 so what settings do I use here please?
     
  16. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    found the solution for the lag u need to format card to FAT16 so click start and type cmd after that make sure your on C:\ and type this format x: /FS:FAT where x is the drive letter of your card and say yes to the message. Tested on 4gb sandisk micro sdhc with 1.08 kernel and the list has no lag and games load faster. Now need to get Jump Ultimate Stars working on TTDS
     
  17. shatteredirony
    OP

    Newcomer shatteredirony Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah that worked everything works brilliant now fast menus faster loading times everything is good finally cheers guys
     
  18. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good to hear that [​IMG]
     
  19. Rhuarc

    Newcomer Rhuarc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone compared using this method to using the Panasonic SD Formatter? I have read that the windows system isn't designed for formatting SD cards, and will add things to the formatting of the card that can cause problems. On the other hand the Panasonic SD Converter doesn't allow formatting in FAT16 on a 4GB card. Only FAT32.

    Just want the best for my Kingston 4GB SDHC!

    THanks! [​IMG]
     
  20. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried the panasonic tool which was shit imo so use the fat16 method
     

Share This Page