since R4 can't do SDHC....

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by silent sniper, Mar 7, 2008.

Mar 7, 2008
  1. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, i was thinking, since the R4 can only read normal microSD cards (and yes, i know the R4 itself doesnt contain the firmware), would it be possible to create a patch, stick in on a normal microSD and plug it in to make the R4 to make it read SDHC? or is it a hardware issue it can't read SDHC?
     
  2. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    buy a real flashcart, sdhc is hardware though
     
  3. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    wtf do you mean, "real" flash cart, R4 is a real flash cart.
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's not possible to to just put a patch file on the microSD to add SDHC support to the R4DS. I mean, if it can't read a SDHC card now, it wouldn't be able to read the patch file now would it? It's a hardware thing.

    You DO have a few choices though; buy another microSD and just swap them out, buy a newer flashcart that DOES support SDHC or wait for the R4DS v3 that will support SDHC.
     
  5. silent sniper
    OP

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, actually, now i might rip off my friend and sell my R4 to'm and get a Cyclo for the same price.
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    There ya go! [​IMG]
     
  7. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I heard a while ago about an SDHC R4 card, but I don't know anything about that... Or heard anything since.
     
  8. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I don't think you can. It's an issue with the loader's mapper. The mapper is the part which locates and reads/writes every single piece of information to/from the microSD, and it can only recognize up to 2GB of data sectors. There... is another thread right now which I'm hoping in the end could turn out to be of some use...
     

Share This Page