Simplify Acekard Features

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Striker123, Jun 26, 2008.

Jun 26, 2008

Simplify Acekard Features by Striker123 at 4:19 PM (1,327 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Striker123
    OP

    Newcomer Striker123 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi All

    Is it possible to disable certain acekard 2 menus/features? I have a little one, and was wondering if I could just allow selecting a rom and running? If not maybe some other menuing program for the acekard2?
     
  2. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    you could maybe alter a skin to remove the start menu touch control but there are always going to be random button presses which could do something i think - unless you change it internally.
     
  3. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    What is preventing you from "just ... selecting a rom and running" it?
     
  4. jabjab

    Member jabjab GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    because the kid switches off and on gets into menu and deletes all
     
  5. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if there's a way to remove or disable the start menu entirely. You might want to ask Smiths or Normmatt if there's a way to do that with the AKAIO menu, or if maybe they would add an option to lock the start menu. Seems pretty useful for kids.

    -Bri
     
  6. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    You can use ysmenu i guess.
     
  7. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with Swip. YSmenu is prolly the most simple and "kid friendly" menu to use with AK.
     
  8. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think YSMenu is particularly kid friendly. You can't use the stylus to scroll or anything, and if you start pressing buttons randomly, you are going to end up deleting something or changing some settings. I think you may be able to edit the .ini file to remove the ability to delete files, but you'll still be able to muck with settings.

    -Bri
     
  9. purespin

    Newcomer purespin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Just got AK2 and would like to disable delete/cut from start menu as well as this DS is a gift for my 5-year-old girl.

    So which .ini file Bri talked about?
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    It's only for YSMenu (a custom menu system that you can install on your Acekard 2 and a few other carts that replaces the official menu). YSMenu isn't as nice as the official menu, but there is an option in the YSMenu.ini file to turn off the "delete" function if I'm not mistaken.

    -Bri
     
  11. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    In YSMenu.ini

    Change

    Code:
    NO_DEL=false
    to

    Code:
    NO_DEL=true
     

Share This Page