Silly question about PAL&NTSC

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by acillatem214, Feb 19, 2007.

Feb 19, 2007
  1. acillatem214
    OP

    Newcomer acillatem214 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Just to clarify the terms PAL and NTSC...

    Japanese Wii console is ________.
    Japanese games are ________.
    American Wii console is ________.
    American games are ________.

    Will someone be kind enough to fill in the blanks?
     
  2. g.crow

    Member g.crow beide mittelfinger hoch

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    770
    Country:
    United States
    ntsc, all 4
     
  3. acillatem214
    OP

    Newcomer acillatem214 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Therefore, I can play Japanese games on my American Wii with no modding?
     
  4. Devil_Spawn

    Member Devil_Spawn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    infortunately not, the games are still region encoded to NTSC-USA and NTSC-JAP
     
  5. acillatem214
    OP

    Newcomer acillatem214 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    But with a Wiikey, that claims, "Direct boot of different NTSC region Wii games/backups on US and JAP consoles," I can play Japanese games on my NTSC-USA console.

    Correct?
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    So why did Nintendo region code the Wii but not the DS?

    Why limit possible software sales overseas (importing) with region coding?
     
  7. Wanque

    Member Wanque GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good question. It probably stems from the old (and not really valid anymore) problem of TVs in PAL-land not being able to display NTSC signals.

    The DS has it's own built-in screen, and is therefore problem free.

    Wish they hadn't, though [​IMG]
     
  8. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    So what is Pal then?
     
  9. Kaphis

    Member Kaphis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Richmond
    Country:
    Canada
    is so that people don't import games and significantly decrease sells of the game's America market. I have no reason why DS is not region locked ^^:;
     
  10. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PAL is just a different video standard. Nintendo want to discourage importing so they have control over where games are bought from. If they release a game in Japan, concentrate all their efforts on marketing, shipping etc over there and then by the time they've released it in the US half the people have already got it on import then it looks like a flop and it doesn't get to number one in the charts on the Friday of release. Same with the US -> UK. And they don't know if this is because it's more suited to the Japanese market and more Japs bought it or if yankies have been shipping them over by the bucketload.

    I guess the DS isn't region encoded because Nintendo want to to take it travelling with you and be able to buy a game at any airport in the world and play it on your flight. Plus of course there's no problems with different video standards like there is with systems that output onto TVs.
     
  11. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    is the ps3 region locked, just wondering
     
  12. imgod22222

    Member imgod22222 GBAtemp's Original No-faced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,555
    Country:
    United States
    Um.. pulling this from memory, but i think that NTSC has a different resolution and framerate compared to PAL. I think PAL has a higher res and faster framerate. I know for a fact that NTSC is 640x480, with 30fps. I think that PAL is 720xsomething.
    All i know, sorry. [​IMG]
     
  13. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If that turns out to be true then yes, you are correct.
    I would wait for a review first, my big worry with playing different region games is that if the game needs to access a feature in the Wii's firmware then it may well be able to detect what region your Wii console is and block it from running.
    That is speculation and not likely to be a problem yet. I can't help but think that would be easy to implement though.
     
  14. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Kind of.

    NTSC has 480 lines and runs at a "smoother" refresh rate of 60Hz.

    PAL has 576 lines (hence better picture definition) but only operates at a refresh rate of 50Hz.

    So since the output on a standard TV is interlaced (which means it alternates between lines on each refresh, meaning that each full frame is actually divided into two), it means that the amount of frames output per second (FPS if you want to call it that - I'm pretty sure it's different to a game's internal FPS though) is half of those refresh rates. However on a progressive scan TV, the amount of frames is the same as the refresh rate.
     
  15. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    However, as long as your TV isn't old enough to be steam powered it can go up to 60hz and you can set your Wii to PAL 60hz mode. Most GameCube games had this option as well.
     
  16. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    But PAL60 mode doesn't have the same number of lines.
    It uses the same colour format, but operates at 480 interlaced.

    Basically it's just NTSC with PAL colours :/
     
  17. kronicd

    Newcomer kronicd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes
     
  18. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    i've heard than it's not...
     

Share This Page