Hacking RELEASE Sigpatches for Atmosphere (Hekate, fss0, fusee & package3)

idSkeetOnU

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
17
Country
United States
yup, no good!!

next time follow this steps:
1 - Update Hekate, Atmosphere and then sigpatches
2 - Update FW
3 - Go to Hekate and backup emuMMC RAW GPP + Boot0 & Boot1
4 - In Hekate launch LockPick_RCM and backup yours keys
5 - Move this backups on a safety place
oh really i did not know that. so what should i do now that im on 13.0.0? do i make a backup now or do i erase my sd card and start over?

edit: i installed cfw at 10.0 then updgraded to 13.0.
 
Last edited by idSkeetOnU,

gelderm

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 16, 2021
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
78
Country
Italy
oh really i did not know that. so what should i do now that im on 13.0.0? do i make a backup now or do i erase my sd card and start over?

edit: i installed cfw at 10.0 then updgraded to 13.0.
keep Nintendo folder on your SD and delete the rest.
Put Hekate files, then Atmosphere files and finally this sigpatches on SD.
Follow my steps from number 3.
Launch CFW
Enjoy
 
  • Like
Reactions: impeeza

idSkeetOnU

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
17
Country
United States
keep Nintendo folder on your SD and delete the rest.
Put Hekate files, then Atmosphere files and finally this sigpatches on SD.
Follow my steps from number 3.
Launch CFW
Enjoy
i have a noob question then. so since i was running an emunand cfw, was my switch's system files modified in any way? can i just use new sd card and follow same guide to make emunand and then load cfw this time using 13.0.0? what does the nintendo folder have in it that i need to carry over? sorry for all the questions and thanks for all the help im getting. ive never updated before i guess i did something wrong
 

CaptainCrunch

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
83
Country
United States
Updated the fixing guide with the solution posted by @CaptainCrunch the other day

Also, what's the deal with the people getting the "Sigpatch too low" error message?
I vaguely remember that issue being mentioned before, but I never knew why it tends to happen and/or how people were able to fix that one.
Hello. Just wanted to clarify my previous post to help get to the bottom of this error. I think the "sigpatch too low" error message is also related to converted NSPs, or at least it can be, as it's part of the error message Goldleaf returns when attempting to install a converted NSP.

So when I try to install an NSP I know to be converted from a cartridge dump, Goldleaf 0.9 returns the following error message:

"Error
An error occurred trying to install the NSP
Error: 2002-4518 (0x234C02)
Module File System (2); Description: Invalid NCA (might mean missing sigpatches or a too low firmware) (4518)"

Here is what Awoo Installer v1.3.4 says when I try to install the same converted NSP:

"Invalid NCA Signature detected! Improperly signed software should only be installed from trustworthy sources. Files containing cartridge repacks and DLC unlockers will always show this warning. You can disable this check in Awoo Installer's settings. Are you sure you want to continue the installation?"

I chose to continue the installation and it failed, returning the following message:

"OpenFileSystemWithld:124: Failed to open filesystem. Make sure your signature patches are up to date and set up properly Error Code: 0x00234c02"

Prior to OFW 12, I never had a problem with converted NSPs. On OFW 12.1.0 (that was the first v12 update I did), the Switch flagged many games as "corrupt" when I tried to boot them up, and refused to load them (I later realized these were all converted NSP installations). Deleting and reinstalling them with Awoo Installer v1.3.4 solved the problem.

On OFW 13.0.0 with the sigpatches posted on Friday installed, neither Goldleaf 0.9 nor Awoo v1.3.4 can install the converted NSPs. Many of these are first-party Nintendo games because those usually leak pre-release from cartridges, with eShop versions appearing later, after release, if at all.

I don't have the expertise to know if this is a sigpatch or installer problem. If someone knows, please share. Will new sigpatches solve this problem, or will the installers themselves need to be updated?

In the meantime, replacing the converted NSPs with eShop NSPs has been a workaround. Unfortunately, there are many games where eShop versions never leaked, so this isn't a total solution. If anyone figures out a solution for converted NSPs, please share!
 
  • Like
Reactions: PHiLiPZ and impeeza

Stallzart

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
27
Country
United States
This is what I get when I try to launch the physical cart that is in my switch while in cfw but it works fine when not in cfw. The 2nd pic is an eshop game that was purchased and also works fine while not in cfw
 

Attachments

  • D3E47130-354C-4130-9718-707D57FAB32F.jpeg
    D3E47130-354C-4130-9718-707D57FAB32F.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 42
  • B82A818A-7121-4802-853F-066D273BF901.jpeg
    B82A818A-7121-4802-853F-066D273BF901.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 41

Mata84

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
763
Country
Portugal
Have you tried to deleted one game and reinstall it and see if it works. It seems that you dont have any game installed on the console.

Enviado do meu SM-G973F através do Tapatalk
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,685
Trophies
1
XP
12,471
Country
Mexico
It seems that there's a new type of NSP/NCA format that's being used, which could be the cause of all the issues with the recent NCA signatures and sigpatches problems.

Take a look at this:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-nsp-format.594045/

This could very well be the culprit for all the recent issues. I am not sure, but probably Tinfoil fixed the support for this new type of NCA.
@mrdude were you aware of this?
Could be worth checking, as it could probably help for the sigpatches scripts and also for Tinwoo.
 

mrdude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,194
Trophies
1
Age
53
XP
3,322
Country
It seems that there's a new type of NSP/NCA format that's being used, which could be the cause of all the issues with the recent NCA signatures and sigpatches problems.

Take a look at this:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-nsp-format.594045/

This could very well be the culprit for all the recent issues. I am not sure, but probably Tinfoil fixed the support for this new type of NCA.
@mrdude were you aware of this?
Could be worth checking, as it could probably help for the sigpatches scripts and also for Tinwoo.
No I never knew this and haven't had a look for any info on it yet, although I'm still on FW11 and installed Lost In Random and it plays just fine using my sig patches so it's most likely not a patches or firmware issue. More likely people didn't completely remove the Atmosphere folder and update hekate before using the new Atmosphere. Also I am just using the bare minimum of patches that are required for fw11 and don't have any issues with my games. It could also be an installer issue - maybe try the newest Tinfoil and see how you get on, if things work with that you could probably rule out sigpatches as being the cause of people's issues.
 
Last edited by mrdude,
  • Like
Reactions: ShadowOne333

Stallzart

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
27
Country
United States
Have you tried to deleted one game and reinstall it and see if it works. It seems that you dont have any game installed on the console.

Enviado do meu SM-G973F através do Tapatalk
Yes I deleted castlevania advance and redownloaded it still had the same problem. I guess I’ll try a clean install of everything and see what happens. And also as I said all my games work completely fine while not in cfw.
 

Stallzart

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
27
Country
United States
So I just did a clean install of everything for cfw. And I’m still getting the same problem. I assume it has to do with the sigpatches 😩😩😩 hopefully the powers that be will fix it soon. Because all I keep seeing is about Tinfoil I don’t use tinfoil
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
446
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
671
Country
Colombia
So I just did a clean install of everything for cfw. And I’m still getting the same problem. I assume it has to do with the sigpatches 😩😩😩 hopefully the powers that be will fix it soon. Because all I keep seeing is about Tinfoil I don’t use tinfoil
if you like try this set of patches, they are a combination of the ones on this forum and others from https://gbatemp.net/threads/info-on-sha-256-hashes-on-fs-patches.581550/page-10 this folder is the one I just have on my Switch and works flawlessly to me.
 

Attachments

  • FW13.0.0+Atmosphére 1.01.1.zip
    35.9 KB · Views: 31

mrdude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
1,194
Trophies
1
Age
53
XP
3,322
Country
It seems that there's a new type of NSP/NCA format that's being used, which could be the cause of all the issues with the recent NCA signatures and sigpatches problems.

Take a look at this:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/new-nsp-format.594045/

This could very well be the culprit for all the recent issues. I am not sure, but probably Tinfoil fixed the support for this new type of NCA.
@mrdude were you aware of this?
Could be worth checking, as it could probably help for the sigpatches scripts and also for Tinwoo.
I updated tinwoo, it's nothing to do with the patches or a new type of NSP/NCA, but a line of code that was missing from some installers, most have been fixed now.

You can see here for details:
https://github.com/R-YaTian/AtmoXL-Titel-Installer/commit/a5765075adc31d7c213d7e8b9cb86bb19577d0ee
Code:
contentMetaHeader.attributes = packagedContentMetaHeader.attributes; // Sparse Titles use 0x04 not 0x0

That's all that needs added to awoo installer as well to fix that, maybe the dev will add that himself or someone can fork and add it for you, I updated tinwoo and tested installing Lost in Random - in SXOS is stays on the logo, but in Atmosphere the game load and plays fine.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
OP
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,685
Trophies
1
XP
12,471
Country
Mexico
I updated tinwoo, it's nothing to do with the patches or a new type of NSP/NCA, but a line of code that was missing from some installers, most have been fixed now.

You can see here for details:
https://github.com/R-YaTian/AtmoXL-Titel-Installer/commit/a5765075adc31d7c213d7e8b9cb86bb19577d0ee
Code:
contentMetaHeader.attributes = packagedContentMetaHeader.attributes; // Sparse Titles use 0x04 not 0x0

That's all that needs added to awoo installer as well to fix that, maybe the dev will add that himself or someone can fork and add it for you, I updated tinwoo and tested installing Lost in Random - in SXOS is stays on the logo, but in Atmosphere the game load and plays fine.
Oh interesting, so it was an installer thing rather than the NCA. Good to know.

And thanks for the fix! I'll make sure to update my Tinwoo alongside my whole setup during the weekend 😁
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
446
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
671
Country
Colombia
I updated tinwoo, it's nothing to do with the patches or a new type of NSP/NCA, but a line of code that was missing from some installers, most have been fixed now.

You can see here for details:
https://github.com/R-YaTian/AtmoXL-Titel-Installer/commit/a5765075adc31d7c213d7e8b9cb86bb19577d0ee
Code:
contentMetaHeader.attributes = packagedContentMetaHeader.attributes; // Sparse Titles use 0x04 not 0x0

That's all that needs added to awoo installer as well to fix that, maybe the dev will add that himself or someone can fork and add it for you, I updated tinwoo and tested installing Lost in Random - in SXOS is stays on the logo, but in Atmosphere the game load and plays fine.
For awoo installer I will not hold my breath for a solution. Use AtmoXL or NSA installer instead
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: It was mostly onion potatoes and carrot