siggy + avatar question .

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Splych, Jan 11, 2011.

Jan 11, 2011

siggy + avatar question . by Splych at 6:16 AM (710 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    so i am aware that if we were to have a siggy + avatar , it must equal to a maximum of 80kb .
    my avatar is 40kb , while my siggy i just made is 90kb .
    if i host it at lets say , photobucket , will the rules still apply ? or do they only apply to the GBAtemp Upload Service ?

    thanks !
     
  2. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    I would assume they don't seeing as it's not hogging their server space. But you never know.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's bandwidth considerations for the viewers (which is pretty global across all forums).

    15 posts per page, and if every post on a single page is a different person and everybody has 80KB in their avatar and sig, that's an additional 1.2 megabytes per page. That may not seem like much to some people in countries with fast internet, but if you've got crappy internet it really makes an impact on speed, and lots of people have metered bandwidth. If limits were raised (to say 200KB total), that's three megs possible per page they view. Many ISPs that meter bandwidth have low limits and charge a lot for overage.
     
  4. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Storage isn't a problem, it's the displaying.

    You can embed a YouTube video or a huge SWF into your signature; it's not hosted here but it will probably still get removed because of the size.
     
  5. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Doesn't matter where you upload the image. As long as you wanna use them on this website, their total size cannot exceed 80kb.
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    ^ This

    Sometimes makes you wonder why there's a Disable Signature/Avatar option though. [​IMG]
     
  7. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    Which is complete bull. People from other countries, or slow internet can just turn the sigs/avatars off.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's called "moderation". I'd much rather be able to see 80KB of personalization stuff than have to turn it all off because one guy decides to put a 32MB GIF as his avatar.
     
  9. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    ah alright, thanks for the answer .
    so stick with no siggy i guess for a while till' i make one that's 40kb max .
    i hate reducing the siggy's quality as a jpg, just doesn't look nice .
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Depending on what it is a fixed-palette format might work better, PM it to me.
     
  11. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe if there was a setting to hide signatures/avatars of a certain size? [​IMG]
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That would require the forum software to check each image, which would use up bandwidth, and would be easy to bypass.
     
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair point.
     

Share This Page