Side effects of soft reset?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by da_head, Jun 17, 2008.

Jun 17, 2008

Side effects of soft reset? by da_head at 2:55 AM (1,908 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    When u soft reset, it often (if not always) causes a bunch of random pixels to appear across the screen and such. does this cause any damage to ur ds/r4/sd? i don't think it does, but just wanna make sure. thanks
     
  2. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    i dont think it does since its just the same as turning on the ds and loading the card w/o the nds health screens
    the onl thing that may come from it is a frozen menu but its not a big deal since it doesnt cause a issue to microsd card or ur r4(cuz that's why they allow soft reset)

    why dont they call it hard reset??
     
  3. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    k thanks. its called a soft reset cause its short for "software reset" as in resetting the ds, without actually turning it off, (only resetting the software). a "hard reset" which is hardware reset, requires one to physically turn the ds off and on.

    if that made sense :S
     
  4. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    i just hard reseted myself [​IMG]
     
  5. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    o.O
     
  6. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It doesn't cause any major issues. It will only cause minor graphical glitches.
     
  7. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    The only issue I have is that soft resetting doesn't completely clear the DS' RAM so tiny fragmented bits of data is still there. This increases the chance that the next game you play may freeze or crash but the chances are quite low. Though soft resetting out of games several times does increase this risk and I the games freeze on me when I try to load them. Of course turning the DS on and off fixes this problem.
     
  8. hova1

    Member hova1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Germany
    when i start a commercial ROM and soft reset, i can't start homebrew.
     

Share This Page