Should Skyrim be lagging on my PC at Ultra?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Zorua, Nov 22, 2011.

Nov 22, 2011
  1. Zorua
    OP

    Member Zorua I'm not a furry.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    I have a decent gaming rig but I only get about 15-20 FPS when I run Skyrim. I had previously heard that Skyrim isn't very demanding so this shouldn't be happening.

    My specs:

    ATI Radeon HD 6770
    Intel Core i7 2600
    8GB RAM
    460W PSU
     


  2. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe you should turn the settings down a bit, that may help.
     
  3. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    There are mods out there that could install performance. Get them.

    Oh and you might want to use FXAA instead of the normal AA


    Oh and i don't think it should lag on your machine :S
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/skyrim-performance-benchmark,3074-7.html

    The 6770's actually a good chunk slower than the 6850 that shows up in those benchmarks, actually.. so it's not a surprise your framerate is low on ultra.
     
  5. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you cant handle ultra at 60 fps, you need at least a 570 gtx or 6950
     
  6. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Turn off shadow. Well im using GTX 260 and playing at ultra
     
  7. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Try turning shadows to Low, and ignore the ugliness. Shadows are one of the main reasons the game lags.

    EDIT: And if that doesn't work, try clicking High in the launcher, and raising all of the settings except for shadows and the sliders. And use FXAA instead of actual antialiasing.
     
  8. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Since you have tons of RAM try the LAA hack which might give you some performance improvements. People have said this can sometime help with CTD and loading tons of mods.

    http://www.skyrimnex...ile.php?id=1013
     
  9. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    If my PC's lagging on Ultra, should I change my settings to High?
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm using a laptop with
    HD6770M - 750MB dedicated (1GB total)
    i7 2630QM @2.00GHZ
    8GB Ram

    And I record with Fraps on Ultra...
     
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried this, it does nothing but make the game more stable. for me, at least.
     
  12. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Thats the point :huh:
     
  13. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I thinke YayMii means less crashing etc. :unsure:
     
  14. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    The point of this thread is performance. The game crashing isn't what the OP is having problems with.
     
  15. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, I have a GT440 and I run it just fine on ultra.

    Anyways, turn the shadows down, change water reflections, lower the view distance a bit, change the Radial Blur Quality to Medium (I noticed a performance increase from turning this down). Any of those should work.
     
  16. brandonspikes

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    You aren't running it on ultra then lol, you're running it on custom.
     
  17. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    ATM I have everything on ultra. Those were suggestions, not what my setup is. Lol.
     
  18. Zorua
    OP

    Member Zorua I'm not a furry.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Using FXAA instead of the real AA really helped, so thanks to everyone who suggested that. Lowering the shadows isn't helping much. Also, I'm already using the use more than 2GB ram hack. Kind of disappointed here because quite a few of you with a lower configuration are running it on Ultra. Anyway, thanks a lot for the suggestions.
     
  19. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    the people bragging about ultra are not mentioning their resolutions. not that it's impossible. it's just that you need a beefy card. even then, they still show a 20 frame difference min/max. skyrim isn't light, as the OP put it. it does scale very well, though. thank consoles for that. drop it down to high, you'll barely notice any difference, and you'll have a solid 60.
     
  20. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    GTX260 on Ultra, and it lags a bit, but it's more than playable. I guess at least 25fps all the time. 1680x1050.
     

Share This Page