Should I skip the 1.4 firmware and go straight to 1.5 BETA?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Link5084, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Since 1.5 is in BETA still, is it okay if I upgrade straight to that? Will it include all the features from 1.4?
     
  2. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Yes [​IMG]
     
  3. LokusT

    Newcomer LokusT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    All features are retained and from what I've experienced, the 1.5 beta has been mostly stable. It's easy enough to downgrade the firmware again if you have problems anyway.
     
  4. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    The only major difference is an in-game text reader and a compatibility fix, really. Nothing too crazy.
     
  5. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, you can safely update to 1.5B1 from 1.4. 1.5B1 does include all of the features in 1.4, plus more.
     
  6. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    1.5b2 just refines the in-game text reader a little more.
     
  7. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks. Also while we're on topic, do you just take out the microSD out of the Cyclo manually with your fingertips or does it come out if you push it like other DS flashcarts? I notice this is not spring loaded.
     
  8. Kbs

    Member Kbs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, you have to pull it out with your fingers.
     
  9. Filter

    Member Filter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I hate this its very hard to pull my MicroSDHC card out.

    What a pain.
     
  10. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It does get much much easier to pull out the microsd though.
     
  11. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Tsukurimash?! Tsukurimash?! Sate Sate Nani Ga Dekiru Ka Na… Hai!!! Dekimashita!!!

    Edit: Oh my bad I thought we were posting images of random anime and quoting them.
     
  12. Filter

    Member Filter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,315
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    I lol'd at /\ /\ /\ [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    aww no more shikimaru
     
  15. raath

    Newcomer raath Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Country:
    United States
    No point in getting an alpha/beta release unless you're going to provide feedback. If you don't think you so... you might as well avoid it and download the stable version (1.4 in this case).
     
  16. Private|Par

    Member Private|Par GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I got a "badly" made cart, which means my MicroSD sticks out about a millimetre. I actually feel this is an advantage, makes it easier to remove.
     
  17. claudekennilol

    Member claudekennilol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    United States
    I'm actually still using 1.4B2, it's what was available when I got mine, and I haven't had the need to upgrade it (or been home 'til now)
     

Share This Page