Should I get a G6DS Real?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Complication1, Jun 20, 2007.

Jun 20, 2007
  1. Complication1
    OP

    Newcomer Complication1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    What I like is that it seems to run everything (although the wiki isn't updated). This is the biggest feature to me.

    The other one I was looking at is the CycloDS Evolution.

    What should I get?
     
  2. ugly_rose

    Member ugly_rose GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Sweden
    The G6 is VERY reliable with updates and such things. I'm upgrading from the G6 Lite to the Real myself. On-board memory also rocks.
     
  3. sickarox

    Newcomer sickarox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    I got the g6DS Real it's my first DS flashcard , i love it [​IMG] get one
     
  4. SuperCardStore

    Newcomer SuperCardStore Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    What is the difference between the G6Real and all the other carts with on-board memory? The DS Linker, the eXPress Card, the Neo-Flash - all the N-Cards I've handled seem identical, and can use each other's firmware. Is the G6Real just another N-Card clone?
     
  5. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not a clone, though it may use similar kinds of hardware. The firmwares themselves are completely different.
     
  6. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What is so great about the extra memory in the G6 Real (and others)? Is it for homebrew support or something? Surely it isn't enough to run the official browser...
     
  7. tanky

    Newcomer tanky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can someone please tell me if Zelda:PH works on the G6? Do they release updates/fixes as regularly as the R4?

    thinking of getting one, then letting it watch me smash my DS-X into little pieces by dropping an XBOX onto it. The DS-X should be called the 'chocolate teapot'.
     
  8. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    No...Zelda is not currently working on the G6 Real. And I know I didn't get a bad dump, because the same exact rom file works on my R4, CycloDS, and DS-Linker.

    But, the G6 Team should be releasing a new firmware any day now with DLDI auto patching, and I'm sure they'll fix this game along with it.

    I definitely suggest getting this cart. This most feature filled and best internal memory slot 1 cart that there is right now. I love mine.
     
  9. GirAiD

    Newcomer GirAiD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    LA, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Zelda works on G6 real. I tried it the day it came out, couldn't read japanese and deleted it.
    It is a good card, nice interface. One thing need to be noted: G6 team has been slow on update recently, especially for english G6 lite. I suggest you wait a bit and see what the team is up to.
     
  10. Haruspex

    Member Haruspex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    Greece
    Try disabling softreset option, cheats and slowmo feature. I am sure that it will work that way. Also i assume that you use the latest loader 2.0a.
     
  11. ugly_rose

    Member ugly_rose GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yep, Zelda works perfectly without having to set any settings. Just drag-n-drop. And it did from day 1.
     
  12. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Does the game also save properly, though?
     
  13. tanky

    Newcomer tanky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    why? does th G6 have a reputation for save problems?

    man im getting so confused about which card to buy...

    ...think i will just buy them all!
     
  14. h8uthemost

    Member h8uthemost GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    United States
    Ah...I didn't even think of disabling those things. Thanks for the tip. So did anyone try Transformers out?

    And tanky, no, the G6 doesn't have a rep of save problems. It's just that Zelda introduced a new save type, so all the flashcart teams had to update their firmwares so the game would save properly.

    Get the G6 Real, it's an excellent cart, with some great features.
     
  15. shadowboy

    Member shadowboy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,347
    Country:
    United States
    Wii to DS connecting works with this.
    Get it.
     

Share This Page