TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED
New posts, edits, and any changes will not be saved during the transition period.
Registrations are temporarily disabled until the migration is complete.

  1. Ficus

    OP Ficus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    i have not yet updated my wii to IOS37. now i'd like to download the wiiware channel, but to do this i surely need to update the wii firmware as well. is it worth it? i'm really scared of this IOS37 firmware update. thanks
     
  2. trent_fox

    trent_fox GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    First, what is the 'WiiWare channel'?

    The IOS37 firmware has had no effect for anyone thus far. It includes a fix for truscha signing, but that is not being used, and can't be used without another update to enable it.
     
  3. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    There is no such thing as a Wiiware channel.
     
  4. skawo96

    skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Oh I think he meant Wii Shop Channel, 'cause it shows WIIWARE now (in PAL)

    Yes, some games like Defend Your Castle or MLAAK are worth the cursed ios37...
     
  5. Ficus

    OP Ficus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    oh sorry, i thought there was a wiiware channel, like the nintendo channel or the wii shop channel.

    anyway, to play wiiware titles do i need to update my wii right? still my question is if it is worth it.
     
  6. skawo96

    skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Yes. If you don't have the firmware for wii Ware that is 3.2x you will be rebooted from game straight to a Wii menu. and ios is still not activated, so it'll do nothing right now. And it's worth it, you can play Lost Winds, My life as a king, Dr. Mario, Defend your castle and some other stuff.
     
  7. BBking83

    BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Country:
    Really?? I was on 3.1E and Lost Winds worked but Dr. Mario, MM9 and DyC didn't. I did the Nintendo update and got to 3.4E. Now the WiiWare games work but DyC still does the same thing. Comes up as channel, start and goes blank disconnects the remote and console needs resetting. Not sure if PAL has anything to do with it??

    But, if loading a cIOS will fix DyC I'll do that rather than doing a Nintendo update. (I eventually got back to 3.1E and someone said all I have to do was load a IOS)
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=122973

    So, do you know of anything that'll get DyC working? Other than a Nintendo update?? [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - wiiware, channel, should