1. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Hi guys, how are you doing?

    Actually, I have a backup from 07/26/2019, which consists of basically a clean nand, prod.keys... of my 4.1.0 old nand fw -edit: my switch came with this firmware-. It's the first thing I did with the switch -edit: a backup, I mean- (so no games nor programs installed, it's clean, as new), but I am actually on the latest FW on my sysnand, which is clean, but of course, has a newer firmware version (so fuses were burnt), and games, which since they are digital, I don't care to lose them because I would download them again eventually.

    So, returning to the point, since my last backup was from almost a year ago from version 4.1.0 and my switch is currently on the latest firmware on sysnand, should I create a new backup and delete the old one? Or I am okay sticking with the old one? Or perhaps I should have both, the old clean 4.1.0 and the a new backup from now?

    Thank you very much for your help!
     
    Last edited by Enlapse, May 24, 2020
  2. Jayinem81

    Jayinem81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2020
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Do a new one because if you have to restore the old one unless you backed up your saves recently they'll be gone. Everything will revert back to like it's 07/26/2019 on your Switch nand if you restore that one.

    I do one every few months.

    I mean it wouldn't hurt to have both because one day they might come up with a coldboot exploit but maybe it requires a low firmware you'd be able to take advantage of it. There's already Deja Vu for that firmware.
     
    Last edited by Jayinem81, May 24, 2020
  3. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    Okay, I totally forgot about that. You are absolutely right, my saves. Even having nintendo online, games like AC and PSw don't have online saving (for real? lol). I was planning to do it anyways and have both, but I was asking just to be sure the old one was the one I'd need to use to restore my switch (if needed) correctly, or not.

    Thank you mate!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Should, create, backup