shooters

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by tinymonkeyt, Jul 6, 2008.

Jul 6, 2008

shooters by tinymonkeyt at 1:46 AM (2,469 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. tinymonkeyt
    OP

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    ive been looking around for a good multiplayer shooter
    but im not sure which ones are good
    and i dont think my computer can handle most of them since its just a regular laptop
    but i saw team fortress 2 and i thought it looked a bit, nicer (not so bloody and scary)
    would that be a good game?
    and what minimum requirements do i need to run it?

    any other good games?
    and also, where can i buy them other @ gamestop?
     


  2. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    TF2 rocks (on PC).

    when I am bored, I just play the mario_Kart map. very fun. most fun when a bunch of people w/o lag tho

    GET TF2 ON STEAM!
     
  3. Rehehelly

    Member Rehehelly GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest

    To test if you can run some games ^^

    Since it's just a regular laptop, I doubt you could run TF2 very well.

    Minimum:
    1.7 GHz processor, 512 MB RAM, DirectX 8 level graphics card, Windows 2000/XP/Vista, Internet connection

    Games such as TF2, CS all require steam to download and play.

    I can't really vouch for any other FPS', i've only ever played TF and CS online. Both really good games
     
  4. tinymonkeyt
    OP

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    am i supposed to buy a gaming computer if i plan to play games like these in the future?
     
  5. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    That would be a good idea, since your laptop would overheat pretty quickly if you played a real game, even RuneScape can make a good laptop overheat.
     
  6. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    My $500 laptop can play games well, if you turn it to the lowest settings it should work fine.
     
  7. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    my $500 custom PC runs TF2 and CS and POrtal and half life 2 and crysis maxed


    if u get cs, get css
     
  8. Rehehelly

    Member Rehehelly GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. Since I have a £200 Dell (2.8ghz Celeron D, 512MB RAM and integrated gfx). All i'd need to run CS:S/TF2 is a better graphics card, which sadly I cannot upgrade because dell is a piece of crap and didn't include PCI-E/AGP expansion.

    A normal PC can run the games tbh. Laptops can play games, they just don't tend to have the power to play them on med/high, in my experience.
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Man am I old school. I saw "shooters" and immediately thought shoot'em-up.

    THAT is the kind of games I'm interested in on the PC.

    I'm not into FPS games, but I'm ALWAYS up for a good shoot'em-up.
     
  10. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    like contra?


    I'd get tf2 just for all the upcoming updates!!
     
  11. tinymonkeyt
    OP

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    but i cant :'[
    id have to wait until college or something to buy a new computer since mine is too sucky
    and by that time, no one's gonna be playing TF2 and ill be a sad lil girl
     
  12. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    They might be, CS has been around for a very long time.
     
  13. Rehehelly

    Member Rehehelly GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOADS of people still play CS 1.6 even though Source is out.

    TF2 will be played for many, many years to come. People still play the original TF.
     
  14. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    I play CS Condition Zero almost every night... there are a butt load of people who still play it, and you can pick it up at WalMart or GameStop for like $5-$10 bucks... hell, you can even download it from Steam for the same price!
     
  15. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    bullshit
     
  16. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    I agree! No way a $500 rig runs Crysis maxed!! [​IMG]
     
  17. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    People are still confused on what 'max' means. If you were to truly max out Crysis, no PC today could play it at a reasonable framerate.
     
  18. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Not even Nasa could do it for more than a few moments! (according to the Gameinformer parody ~)
     
  19. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    I used the DX10 config thing and run it on [very]high. I get about 22fps. thats reasonable for me.
     
  20. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    22fps is fail [​IMG]
     

Share This Page