Hacking "Shiren the Wanderer" Injection on PAL-Wii U

AcuteBulbasaurappears

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
70
Country
Germany
Hi,
I modded the hell out of my WiiU and I love to have all the games from the start menu. I did backups of all my Wii and Gamecube-Games and lately I purchased the American Version of "Shiren the Wanderer". With this game I tried to create injections or to play it from wiiflow and so on but nothing worked. Even if I patched the video format, I still get a black screen everytime I boot it up. I read that some guys used USB-Loader GX but since I already have my external hard drive stored with injections I can't use another USB device for pure Wii-backups.
So I'd love to know, if there's any way for me to play Shiren the Wanderer on my Wii U.
Thank U!!!:yayu:
 

Marcus777

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
238
Country
Spain
Hi,
I modded the hell out of my WiiU and I love to have all the games from the start menu. I did backups of all my Wii and Gamecube-Games and lately I purchased the American Version of "Shiren the Wanderer". With this game I tried to create injections or to play it from wiiflow and so on but nothing worked. Even if I patched the video format, I still get a black screen everytime I boot it up. I read that some guys used USB-Loader GX but since I already have my external hard drive stored with injections I can't use another USB device for pure Wii-backups.
So I'd love to know, if there's any way for me to play Shiren the Wanderer on my Wii U.
Thank U!!!:yayu:
Well I think that USB loaders would be way reliable to play the game, sometimes injections can have compatibility issues if you don't want to use another USB device use a SD card to play it from your SD as well if you use the configurable USB loader and you have dumped the game.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

AcuteBulbasaurappears

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
70
Country
Germany
Well I think that USB loaders would be way reliable to play the game, sometimes injections can have compatibility issues if you don't want to use another USB device use a SD card to play it from your SD as well if you use the configurable USB loader and you have dumped the game.

Thank you! So now I downloaded the configurable USB Loader. Do you know how to set it up for the game? Couldn't figure it out :o
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,399
Trophies
1
XP
14,020
Country
United States
you do know that wiiflow and usb loader gx would have to use another drive, right? the only way to use the same drive is mocha fat32, but that requires installing the game on wii u formatted drive, then transferring to a fat32 drive. imo, not worth it.
 

AcuteBulbasaurappears

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
70
Country
Germany
you do know that wiiflow and usb loader gx would have to use another drive, right? the only way to use the same drive is mocha fat32, but that requires installing the game on wii u formatted drive, then transferring to a fat32 drive. imo, not worth it.
That's the problem. That's why I'm trying to find a way how to play wii titles from a SD card. Seems like config. USB Loader can do so.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
22,399
Trophies
1
XP
14,020
Country
United States
never tried a wii game from sd card, but I know it can read cube games. a black screen might be due to it being ntsc, but normally a resolution problem causes no signal; a Hz problem makes the video black and white. it's not doing either of those.
 

AcuteBulbasaurappears

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
70
Country
Germany
Now I´m havong cIOSs installed and I can boot config USB Loader. I told it to use SD-Card but it didn't find my wbfs game. Its located in SD/Wbfs
 

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2,353
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
2,099
Country
Shiren the Wanderer does natively require NTSC video mode. You have a few options here.
  1. Patch the video mode with the NTSC-to-PAL hack using the injection tool, although it sounds like you may have already tried this unsuccessfully. If you could get this to work, it's probably the best option since you could get GamePad control support and it doesn't require any further modifications.
  2. Edit your vWii's setting.txt to set your vWii to NTSC mode. There's a tutorial for doing that here. This may be further than you want to go just to play one game, but that's up to you. You will still have GamePad controls using this method if you use a Wii VC injection.
  3. Use an SD/USB loader like you've been trying to do and either set the game to "Force NTSC" or "Game Default" video modes (exact terminology may vary across different loaders). I use this setup myself with CFG USB Loader; in the usb-loader folder is a config.txt with the line device = sdhc, that was all it took for CFG to detect my WBFS files. You will not get GamePad controls using this method.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

Marcus777

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
238
Country
Spain
Thank you! So now I downloaded the configurable USB Loader. Do you know how to set it up for the game? Couldn't figure it out :o
Just create a folder called "wbfs" in your SD root and copy the games in there with it's TitleID for example SD:/wbfs/Twilight princess [RZDE01] also edit your loader for it to load the SD card instead of a USB
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

sgakensymd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2017
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
58
Country
France
Shiren the Wanderer does natively require NTSC video mode. You have a few options here.
  1. Patch the video mode with the NTSC-to-PAL hack using the injection tool, although it sounds like you may have already tried this unsuccessfully. If you could get this to work, it's probably the best option since you could get GamePad control support and it doesn't require any further modifications.
  2. Edit your vWii's setting.txt to set your vWii to NTSC mode. There's a tutorial for doing that here. This may be further than you want to go just to play one game, but that's up to you. You will still have GamePad controls using this method if you use a Wii VC injection.
  3. Use an SD/USB loader like you've been trying to do and either set the game to "Force NTSC" or "Game Default" video modes (exact terminology may vary across different loaders). I use this setup myself with CFG USB Loader; in the usb-loader folder is a config.txt with the line device = sdhc, that was all it took for CFG to detect my WBFS files. You will not get GamePad controls using this method.

Thanks for posting this.

I'm struggling to get 3 NTSC Wii games working on my WiiU using the WiiVC injector.

MLB Power Pros
MLB Power Pros 2008
Dragon's Lair Trilogy.

Both MLB games give me a blank screen while Dragon's Lair Trilogy gives me a blue screen with "Invalid TV Format" on it. I tried the Wii video mode changer on the injector using "smart" option and it didn't work. Previous threads from around 2010 on gbatemp have stated that Dragon's Lair is a pain to get working on a PAL Wii so I'm curious to know if a solution has ever been found.
 

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2,353
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
2,099
Country
Thanks for posting this.

I'm struggling to get 3 NTSC Wii games working on my WiiU using the WiiVC injector.

MLB Power Pros
MLB Power Pros 2008
Dragon's Lair Trilogy.

Both MLB games give me a blank screen while Dragon's Lair Trilogy gives me a blue screen with "Invalid TV Format" on it. I tried the Wii video mode changer on the injector using "smart" option and it didn't work. Previous threads from around 2010 on gbatemp have stated that Dragon's Lair is a pain to get working on a PAL Wii so I'm curious to know if a solution has ever been found.
I think all three of these are probably the same exact issue, it's just that the Dragon's Lair Trilogy disc was compiled with error reporting still enabled. Most games will just black screen if they don't support any video modes the console does (in this case, any of the PAL modes), but if the devs forget to compile a proper final release build, you'll get error messages instead of black screens. Earth Seeker (Japan/NTSC-only) is another game that does this if anybody wants to experiment with it.

It is definitely possible to get Dragon's Lair Trilogy running on a PAL Wii, as I've confirmed it as working using both option 2 (editing video mode setting) and 3 (forcing NTSC with a USB/SD loader) from my post above. Option 2 should also work for injections, although I haven't personally tested it. I will see if I can get it running via option 1 (patching the injection's video mode/s) when I get the chance and report back.
 

sgakensymd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2017
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
58
Country
France
I think all three of these are probably the same exact issue, it's just that the Dragon's Lair Trilogy disc was compiled with error reporting still enabled. Most games will just black screen if they don't support any video modes the console does (in this case, any of the PAL modes), but if the devs forget to compile a proper final release build, you'll get error messages instead of black screens. Earth Seeker (Japan/NTSC-only) is another game that does this if anybody wants to experiment with it.

It is definitely possible to get Dragon's Lair Trilogy running on a PAL Wii, as I've confirmed it as working using both option 2 (editing video mode setting) and 3 (forcing NTSC with a USB/SD loader) from my post above. Option 2 should also work for injections, although I haven't personally tested it. I will see if I can get it running via option 1 (patching the injection's video mode/s) when I get the chance and report back.

Thank you
 

Vague Rant

Deceptively cute
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
2,353
Trophies
0
Location
Melbourne
Website
vaguerant.tumblr.com
XP
2,099
Country
Thank you
I tried using the smart patcher, the brute force patcher and the manual patcher, but still never got anywhere, unfortunately. I did test my "option 2" above, using a clean, unpatched Dragon's Lair Trilogy with a European vWii set to NTSC video mode, and the injection works with no issues in that setup. So as far as I can see, that's the only working way to play the game using GamePad controls. If you don't need GamePad controls, then a USB or SD loader is probably your best option.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sgakensymd

sgakensymd

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 14, 2017
Messages
26
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
58
Country
France
I tried using the smart patcher, the brute force patcher and the manual patcher, but still never got anywhere, unfortunately. I did test my "option 2" above, using a clean, unpatched Dragon's Lair Trilogy with a European vWii set to NTSC video mode, and the injection works with no issues in that setup. So as far as I can see, that's the only working way to play the game using GamePad controls. If you don't need GamePad controls, then a USB or SD loader is probably your best option.

Fantastic! Thank you for this and I'm sure this will be beneficial to whoever reads this. I will go down that route and see where that takes me. For other titles, I've decided to use WiiFlow and have been getting success with that (aside from getting the Wiiflow channel forwarder cooperating with WiiU but I posted in another thread about that https://gbatemp.net/threads/wiiflow-lite-setup-full-tutorial.550801/page-10#post-9223360).

Thanks again buddy :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: jeannotte

AcuteBulbasaurappears

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
70
Country
Germany
I tried using the smart patcher, the brute force patcher and the manual patcher, but still never got anywhere, unfortunately. I did test my "option 2" above, using a clean, unpatched Dragon's Lair Trilogy with a European vWii set to NTSC video mode, and the injection works with no issues in that setup. So as far as I can see, that's the only working way to play the game using GamePad controls. If you don't need GamePad controls, then a USB or SD loader is probably your best option.
Can you also try Shiren the Wanderer? Because it didn't work on my PAL vWii
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Have been for the past 5+ years ;)
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    also holy shit i realized you can click the @ next to names in chat to tag users, how did i not notice this before
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    me when someone asks me who made the song "Runaway"
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Anybody here got a GDEMU?
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I got a (presumed) clone from Aliexpress, but haven't installed yet
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    I've got a clone, it works fine, but I can't get it to play nice with my SDcard reader.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    like an sd card slot extension thing?
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Yeah, to load from (and save data to) an SD card plugged into the serial port.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    You test that extension thing through a regular usb reader on your pc? Could just be a shit one. Bought one for my 3d printer and it just straight up doesn't work
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    it can't be plugged into a USB reader (it's made from a regular SD card to USB adapter, but with the USB end modded to a Dreamcast serial plug)
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    It was working fine before I installed the GDEMU, but now the Dreamcast doesn't recognize it when I boot up Dreamshell.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhh I gotcha. yeah haven't looked at it that much so I'm not super familiar with the hardware
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Can't find any threads about this particular issue on GBAtemp or the wider intarwebz. Saw one video on YouTube that seemed relevant, but it was some dude with the same issue, no solutions offered in the comments. :/
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    my teacher was showing me something and i noticed they had gbatemp open in another window
    Gift
  • SpazzyShinobi @ SpazzyShinobi:
    when worlds collide
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Your teacher is ONE OF US... ONE OF US...
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they could be in this very chat, they could be any one of us
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow."
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    god damn no one ever wants to talk to me but the MOMENT i start studying everyone got shit to say to me
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    (not you guys tho, you guys are cool :)
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    fuck how do i use emoticons within parenthesis
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i left out the closing bracket but that just looks incomplete
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    https://gbatemp.net/chat/message/110146/view
    Imagine if that teacher was, I dunno, pingpong or DinohScene or some other mod or admin...that'd be something, huh.
    Gift
    RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing: https://gbatemp.net/chat/message/110146/view Imagine if that teacher was, I dunno, pingpong or...