Shiny Gold glitches.

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by xerces, Jun 18, 2008.

Jun 18, 2008

Shiny Gold glitches. by xerces at 8:18 PM (2,333 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. xerces
    OP

    Member xerces GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm playing Zel's Pokemon Fire Red hack, Shiny gold. I had to save patch my Fire Red rom, then Patch for Shiny Gold. AS SOON AS you leave your house for the first time, it freezes and glitches. Any idea how to remedy this?

    I've got a supercard SD
     
  2. linkinkid

    Newcomer linkinkid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Miami,Fl
    Country:
    United States
    are you using a clean rom?(i think the reason it's not working is because of the save patch thing you mentioned) ,also what beta are you using?
     
  3. xerces
    OP

    Member xerces GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Country:
    United States
    Using version 5. and i'll try to repatch a clean later.
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    patch in the following order:
    1:Patch firered->shinygold
    2:savepatch shinygold
    3:do a headerfix with gbata
     
  5. xerces
    OP

    Member xerces GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Country:
    United States
    I did those steps slightly out of order. I'll try these. thanks!
     
  6. xerces
    OP

    Member xerces GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Country:
    United States
    Followed the above steps EXACTLY and I still can't save. Any help?
     
  7. linkinkid

    Newcomer linkinkid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Miami,Fl
    Country:
    United States
    well at least is working now....what emulator are you using?(or what are you trying to do)
     
  8. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    When I load my save, it tells me it's corrupted and it will load the last save, so I just end up saving twice before turning the emulator/DS (EZ 3in1) off... If you save once, it will load the one before that. Occasionally it gets deleted but I think it's because my 3 in 1 battery is loose or something... Meh.
     
  9. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    having to save twice means you probably don't have a good savepatch.
    also, are you sure it doesn't load the last save?
    pokemon games sometimes tell you they load the previous save while they actually load the latest.
     
  10. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    or maybe the game HATES YOU???
    try redownloading both the original firered and the patch...
     
  11. linkinkid

    Newcomer linkinkid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Miami,Fl
    Country:
    United States
    well are you sure that the save type is flash 128kb and not 64kb? if not that explains your problem...
     

Share This Page