Homebrew Share and Download custom Wii U Themes

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,757
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
4,896
Country
United States
I found a few account file thingys and also I believe i found the home button menu but i tried changing a few icons and they didn't work with sdcafiine.

The one thing I cannot figure out for the life of me is how to change the colour of the backgrounds. It was the same with Mk8 and the menu background..... I cannot see what needs to be changed and how if it's not stored within a bflim! Any advice is severely appreciated!
So the background color is the part of the spreadsheet I labeled as 'sky background'. It's location is in Men2.pack under Common/Model/LoungeVR.szs Open that tree and enter gsys.bfres/textures, and then edit the bg02 file.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lostbhoy

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,449
Trophies
2
XP
18,381
Country
United States
@MikaDubbz , a couple days ago, I redownloaded your themes from the op, and I replaced them on my hdds. they should be up to date now. I also installed the new version of your light blue theme on my system. this is a new pc, so I hadn't tried filezilla yet. with @Laf111 's ftp server, it uploaded both files at the same time perfectly, but I reduced simultaneous transfers to 1 file at a time afterwards. it's safer that way. anyway, I noticed one of the menu packs for light blue was about 8KBs larger, so I figured you had made some changes. what exactly did you change? I haven't noticed anything different, but I haven't really poked around. :)
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,757
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
4,896
Country
United States
@MikaDubbz , a couple days ago, I redownloaded your themes from the op, and I replaced them on my hdds. they should be up to date now. I also installed the new version of your light blue theme on my system. this is a new pc, so I hadn't tried filezilla yet. with @Laf111 's ftp server, it uploaded both files at the same time perfectly, but I reduced simultaneous transfers to 1 file at a time afterwards. it's safer that way. anyway, I noticed one of the menu packs for light blue was about 8KBs larger, so I figured you had made some changes. what exactly did you change? I haven't noticed anything different, but I haven't really poked around. :)
The only difference from the first version is that the USB icon is blue and black instead of blue and white, and the swap display icon is blue and black themed instead of the old grey image it had been. Other than that, there are no other changes.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
28,449
Trophies
2
XP
18,381
Country
United States
yep, looks better (compared with the top post of page 5):

20210917_130840.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Powerful

Marcus777

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
83
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
305
Country
Spain
Hi, Nice work with those themes they look amazing and thanks for the effort!
And i would like to know which tool did you used for editing the files? Thanks
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,757
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
4,896
Country
United States
Hi, Nice work with those themes they look amazing and thanks for the effort!
And i would like to know which tool did you used for editing the files? Thanks
Switch Toolbox is the main program to explore and change files within the .pack files, photoshop is a tool I use in the process as well.
 

AMIdDST

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
Finland
Thank you for your work with themes, layouts and icon files, everyone! This forum has been incredibly helpful creating the UI of my dreams!
 

Attachments

  • DSC_0438.JPG
    DSC_0438.JPG
    351.1 KB · Views: 63
  • DSC_0441.JPG
    DSC_0441.JPG
    421.9 KB · Views: 62

frillyseal_69

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
195
Country
United States
Anyone else having this issue where when swapping themes the "Swap Screens" button doesn't change colors? I've attempted to install multiple themes and everything changes except that button. Its currently stuck to the same color as my first installed dark blue theme
 

xoINARIox

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
349
Country
Germany
Anyone else having this issue where when swapping themes the "Swap Screens" button doesn't change colors? I've attempted to install multiple themes and everything changes except that button. Its currently stuck to the same color as my first installed dark blue theme
If I remember correctly, the button only changed when I restarted the console
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,757
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
4,896
Country
United States
sdcafiine displays correctly, but the stock menu still has the blue button on reboot
K, this is the Wii U being the Wii U then. I do not understand it for the life of me, but sometimes when you make changes via FTPiiU, they do not stick, despite sometimes the changes even showing up initially on the Wii U menu. My advice is to simply try again, and as soon as you finish the transfer, do not return to the Wii U menu, but instead turn off the Wii U and turn it back on. Don't know why, but I've had similar changes not stick, but every time I do it where I turn off the Wii U immediately after and then turn it back on, that method always sticks.
 

frillyseal_69

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
195
Country
United States
K, this is the Wii U being the Wii U then. I do not understand it for the life of me, but sometimes when you make changes via FTPiiU, they do not stick, despite sometimes the changes even showing up initially on the Wii U menu. My advice is to simply try again, and as soon as you finish the transfer, do not return to the Wii U menu, but instead turn off the Wii U and turn it back on. Don't know why, but I've had similar changes not stick, but every time I do it where I turn off the Wii U immediately after and then turn it back on, that method always sticks.
Ok so as I was posting what I said before, I unplugged my HDD from the back of the console and for some reason that fixed it? I don't know how the two correlated but I guess it had something to do with my HDD
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,757
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
4,896
Country
United States
Ok so as I was posting what I said before, I unplugged my HDD from the back of the console and for some reason that fixed it? I don't know how the two correlated but I guess it had something to do with my HDD
Well whatever works I guess? Glad you got it functioning properly though.
 

BedtimeGuy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
462
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
EVERYWHERE
Website
Visit site
XP
222
Country
Canada
I ran in to the exact same issue as major_mew, as a PSA to everyone else, do NOT try deleting the men/men2 files. I thought that might help clear some sort of cache but all it did was mess up the permissions on the files when I re-uploaded them.

I suggest just turning off the WiiU from the FTP screen, maybe using this mod of FTPiiU https://github.com/Laf111/WiiUFtpServer/releases, and just trying over and over till it sticks.
 
Last edited by BedtimeGuy,

litlnicky

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2019
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
338
Country
United Kingdom
just wanted to ask , is there away to swap out plaza background pic with a custom one? if not , its fine , thankgod its permanent!! big thanks again
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: Hi Ramesh, please join our weird puddle.