Homebrew Share and Download custom Wii U Themes

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,190
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,940
Country
United States
I found a few account file thingys and also I believe i found the home button menu but i tried changing a few icons and they didn't work with sdcafiine.

The one thing I cannot figure out for the life of me is how to change the colour of the backgrounds. It was the same with Mk8 and the menu background..... I cannot see what needs to be changed and how if it's not stored within a bflim! Any advice is severely appreciated!
So the background color is the part of the spreadsheet I labeled as 'sky background'. It's location is in Men2.pack under Common/Model/LoungeVR.szs Open that tree and enter gsys.bfres/textures, and then edit the bg02 file.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lostbhoy

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
@MikaDubbz , a couple days ago, I redownloaded your themes from the op, and I replaced them on my hdds. they should be up to date now. I also installed the new version of your light blue theme on my system. this is a new pc, so I hadn't tried filezilla yet. with @Laf111 's ftp server, it uploaded both files at the same time perfectly, but I reduced simultaneous transfers to 1 file at a time afterwards. it's safer that way. anyway, I noticed one of the menu packs for light blue was about 8KBs larger, so I figured you had made some changes. what exactly did you change? I haven't noticed anything different, but I haven't really poked around. :)
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,190
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,940
Country
United States
@MikaDubbz , a couple days ago, I redownloaded your themes from the op, and I replaced them on my hdds. they should be up to date now. I also installed the new version of your light blue theme on my system. this is a new pc, so I hadn't tried filezilla yet. with @Laf111 's ftp server, it uploaded both files at the same time perfectly, but I reduced simultaneous transfers to 1 file at a time afterwards. it's safer that way. anyway, I noticed one of the menu packs for light blue was about 8KBs larger, so I figured you had made some changes. what exactly did you change? I haven't noticed anything different, but I haven't really poked around. :)
The only difference from the first version is that the USB icon is blue and black instead of blue and white, and the swap display icon is blue and black themed instead of the old grey image it had been. Other than that, there are no other changes.
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,861
Trophies
1
XP
12,890
Country
United States
yep, looks better (compared with the top post of page 5):

20210917_130840.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Powerful

Marcus777

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 22, 2020
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
232
Country
Spain
Hi, Nice work with those themes they look amazing and thanks for the effort!
And i would like to know which tool did you used for editing the files? Thanks
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,190
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,940
Country
United States
Hi, Nice work with those themes they look amazing and thanks for the effort!
And i would like to know which tool did you used for editing the files? Thanks
Switch Toolbox is the main program to explore and change files within the .pack files, photoshop is a tool I use in the process as well.
 

AMIdDST

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 25, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
Finland
Thank you for your work with themes, layouts and icon files, everyone! This forum has been incredibly helpful creating the UI of my dreams!
 

Attachments

  • DSC_0438.JPG
    DSC_0438.JPG
    351.1 KB · Views: 20
  • DSC_0441.JPG
    DSC_0441.JPG
    421.9 KB · Views: 21

major_mew

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Location
No
XP
109
Country
United States
Anyone else having this issue where when swapping themes the "Swap Screens" button doesn't change colors? I've attempted to install multiple themes and everything changes except that button. Its currently stuck to the same color as my first installed dark blue theme
 

xoINARIox

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2017
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
126
Country
Germany
Anyone else having this issue where when swapping themes the "Swap Screens" button doesn't change colors? I've attempted to install multiple themes and everything changes except that button. Its currently stuck to the same color as my first installed dark blue theme
If I remember correctly, the button only changed when I restarted the console
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,190
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,940
Country
United States
sdcafiine displays correctly, but the stock menu still has the blue button on reboot
K, this is the Wii U being the Wii U then. I do not understand it for the life of me, but sometimes when you make changes via FTPiiU, they do not stick, despite sometimes the changes even showing up initially on the Wii U menu. My advice is to simply try again, and as soon as you finish the transfer, do not return to the Wii U menu, but instead turn off the Wii U and turn it back on. Don't know why, but I've had similar changes not stick, but every time I do it where I turn off the Wii U immediately after and then turn it back on, that method always sticks.
 

major_mew

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Location
No
XP
109
Country
United States
K, this is the Wii U being the Wii U then. I do not understand it for the life of me, but sometimes when you make changes via FTPiiU, they do not stick, despite sometimes the changes even showing up initially on the Wii U menu. My advice is to simply try again, and as soon as you finish the transfer, do not return to the Wii U menu, but instead turn off the Wii U and turn it back on. Don't know why, but I've had similar changes not stick, but every time I do it where I turn off the Wii U immediately after and then turn it back on, that method always sticks.
Ok so as I was posting what I said before, I unplugged my HDD from the back of the console and for some reason that fixed it? I don't know how the two correlated but I guess it had something to do with my HDD
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
2,190
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
3,940
Country
United States
Ok so as I was posting what I said before, I unplugged my HDD from the back of the console and for some reason that fixed it? I don't know how the two correlated but I guess it had something to do with my HDD
Well whatever works I guess? Glad you got it functioning properly though.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    do you look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    why do your friends look under the buttons of your mouse
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they dont it's just that they saw the outside of my mouse and said it was disgusting
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    oh wait I understand my braincells have increased
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    by 1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    funnily enough when i was telling my openly femboy furry bf and my friend(we talk about femboys sometimes) they said "nope we don't wanna hear that that's disgusting"
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    why is cheeto dust of all things
    the subject that crosses the line
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wait, Switch Online now has Super Mario 64, right?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i really hate to say this but
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i dont think it does
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Huh, makes sense; they did sell that through the 3D All-Stars collection.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Which, last I heard was removed from the eShop...so they might as well offer it again, I guess...
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Will they use the same Shindou-translated ROM, or the original English ROM?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    googling it, it seems that mario 64 is on the service
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    in japan they use the shindou version apparently but in the states and elsewhere they use the original rom
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
    J @ Jephter: Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but...