Setting up nesDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Kagaden, Jun 22, 2006.

Jun 22, 2006

Setting up nesDS by Kagaden at 9:29 AM (6,639 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Kagaden
    OP

    Newcomer Kagaden Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    HI guys, I just got my M3 today and I wanted to check out nesDS. Problem is, when I put set up the roms for it to read on the PC (running make_nds.bat) it doesn't give me a .nds file! It will output an .nds file if I have no .nes roms listed and build it, but gives me none when I save roms.

    I don't get it, can anyone help?

    Update: Nevermind it just worked and I have no idea why. I didn't do anything differently, maybe my PC's on the fritz. Let me know if there are any suggestions while using this thing. I hear there's a file size limit of 4megs? Is that true? [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. freemaan

    Newcomer freemaan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Hungary
    You shouldn't use make_nds.bat! It's for flashcarts!
    For M3, just put nesds.nds and some ROMs on your card...
     
  3. Kagaden
    OP

    Newcomer Kagaden Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    This would be awesome if I could get it reading roms that aren't wrapped. I put a bunch of roms in the same directory with a blank nesds.nds and when I ran nesds.nds it didn't find any roms on the card [​IMG] Do I need to put them in a /rom directory or is the M3 just incapable of reading the directory? Right now I'm using roms wrapped within the 4 meg limit and it's really annoying. I have an M3slim w/ passcard 3.
     
  4. Kagaden
    OP

    Newcomer Kagaden Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    1) I tried this many times and it didn't work. My card is partitioned for fat32, could that be the problem?

    2) I can't get saves to work in any form when roms are wrapped... neither save states or regular saves [​IMG] How do they work? I'm very familiar with emulators on PC's but not on the GBA/NDS.

    Thanks in advance.
    -k
     
  5. grindking

    Newcomer grindking Newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    exact same problem here, put the roms on the card, write the nds file to the card, run the program, no roms found. have no idea why.
     
  6. klinsek

    Newcomer klinsek Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Same issue here, in both nesDS and snesDS.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  7. Kagaden
    OP

    Newcomer Kagaden Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I scoured the web to research this.
    pockethaven.com had the answers and it looks like we're screwed until a new version comes out:
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=3981
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=3407

    For the lazy: M3 Secure Digital (SD) versions -only- works like a flashcart. Meaning you have a 4 meg limit for games+emu, no ability to SAVE (compounded by no savestates ready yet), and must wrap your roms up with the emulator on your pc via make_nds.bat. [​IMG]

    There's a wishlist here for the author to request new features. I recommend posting there asking (politely) for compatibility with M3SD: [​IMG]
    http://www.pocketheaven.com/boards/viewtopic.php?t=3023

    I tried pocketnes after trying nesDS. nesDS not only LOOKS worlds better, but has fast forward and rewind which I love. For now though, I can't save/play any of my old, long battery dead, rpg's... and text on pocketnes is practically illegible. [​IMG] nesDS is a bloody fantastic emulator but I've almost given up hope since the project looks dead (over 7 months and no update).

    Hope this helps,
    -Kag
     
  8. cantbesaved

    Newcomer cantbesaved Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    1) download it offa filetrip
    1.5) scan the file for viruses, malware, etc
    2) put the .nds on your flashcart, in my case i use a DSTT
    3) test to see it works
    4) go to doperoms.com
    5) get some nes roms there
    6) download 7-zip if you dont have it already
    6.5) scan the files for viruses, malware, etc
    7) create a folder on your flash saying "nesDS roms" or something along those lines
    8) put the roms in the folder
    8.5) make sure there all .nes format
    9) unplug the micro SD reader and insert into flash
    10) fire it up and enjoy



    YAY made a tutorial in 10 steps [​IMG]
     
  9. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,477
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And broke two rules in one...[​IMG]
    You mentioned a ROMsite and bumped a 4 year old thread in the process...
     
  10. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Wow, that's gotta be a new record for the most serious infringement from a user trying to be helpful!
    EDIT: Oh crap, I'm contributing to the bump...

    Is this information still relevant? If not, could someone please lock the thread?
     

Share This Page

Loading...