Services.exe virus cant get rid of it.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by kjb1686, Jun 25, 2012.

Jun 25, 2012
  1. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Hi everyone i have a virus on my computer a patched a gen trojan in fact. The virus is attached to what seems to be my services.exe file. I have ran three different programs to try and get rid of it. First i ran my original AV which is the one telling me that i have the virus, the second i ran was malwarebytes and that didn't find anything, and lastly i ran combofix both in regular and safe mode and that did nothing. I still have this problem and i don't know how to get rid of this nasty thing. Please help me and thank you for any and all help.
     


  2. kongsnutz

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
  3. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help but apparently the tool is not around anymore the link to download it on the site is dead, i just went on softpedia to download and the links they have are dead also.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What's your original anti-virus?

    Could you give us a screenshot of the warning messages it's giving you?
     
  5. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    When it pops up again i will post the screenshot it does it periodically, the antivirus i have is nod 32 i thought it might be a false positive. Since i thought that i uninstalled and reinstalled but it still pops up.

    Well the picture is at the very bottom.

    [attachment=852:Untitled.png]
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Attachments aren't working for some reason, upload the image on some image host like tinypic.com and link us.
     
  7. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay try this http://i47.tinypic.com/6gd2sh.jpg let me know if this one doesn't work it should.
     
  8. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
  9. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yes i tried rkill, hijack this, and all the programs in the sticky up at top and nothing seems to kill it. This is really becoming frustrating it isn't doing anything harmful as far as i can see but you never know when something will happen.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah that'll need some manual removal (unless you want to go the lazier route and do a windows repair install).

    This thread seems to have all the fixes.
    http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/win64-patched-a-gen-trojan-and-sirefef.182033/
     
  11. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well i am just going to go the lazy route and just reinstall windows luckily i only reinstalled windows a few days ago so i don't have much to lose.
     
  12. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    No don't, look here http://www.techspot....f.182033/page-2 (post by Broni)

    Use with ComboFix
     
  13. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    I already tried using combofix and it usually helps but this time it did nothing i even ran it 2 times one in normal windows and one in safe mode.
     
  14. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    This sounds pretty scary. Might I ask if you know how you got infected?
     
  15. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    No idea one minute my computer was fine than next my av was popping up telling me how i was infected. I don't think i downloaded anything infected i only downloaded some things but from legitimate sites and everything, and they scan the stuff so if it was infected it would be gone. Seeing as it is almost 12:30 where i am, i will be reinstalling windows tomorrow unless someone can help me remedy this problem.
     
  16. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sorry for that. Unfortunately, it seems you must do a reinstall.

    Backup your important folders before that.
     
  17. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Already did a reinstall and so far nothing popping up.
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I meant a repair install (to replace the infected system files), not a full format and reinstall, but if you're fine with it it's okay.

    Make sure to keep up on updates for your OS and browsers and such.
     
  19. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well my disc that i got contains all the recent updates until now so i am fine for now on updates.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Updates are pushed in batches monthly (or weekly, depending on the product and situation). If you're talking about a service pack integration, those are done yearly or longer.

    Sitting there thinking you're fine is likely what got you infected in the first place. Keep your OS up to date, and your browser/plugins.
     

Share This Page