Hacking Serious problem

imz

GBAtemp's vigilante
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Location
Gotham city
Website
Visit site
XP
306
Country
A few days ago, I downloaded Advance Wars dark conflict to see how it was, when I tried to run the game, at the title screen where it normally says 'Nintendo' it said 'Unable to write data. Switch off the DS and reinsert the Game Card' at first I thought it must be something wrong with the ROM file, but I tried it on No$gba and it worked perfectly, I later discovered that this was not only happening to this game, but to every game on my flash cart! Which was very strange seeing as it had worked perfectly the same morning.

So I updated my firmware to 2.9...same problem

I thought it might be the save battery on the flash cart which had got weak, so I charged my DS with the flash cart in it...same problem

It might have been the contacts on the card which had got dirty, so I cleaned them..same problem

Then I did what was to me, a last resort, I formatted my flash cart...same problem

So I thought since it got ruined after I put advance wars on it, maybe it was the ROM file which had corrupted it, so I removed that...same problem!

Now I am all out of options and unable to run any games on my G6
frown.gif
Does anyone know what the problem is, and does anyone know how to fix it, or am I left with a broken flash cart?
 

OSW

Wii King
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,787
Trophies
0
XP
461
Country
formatting through the DS seems to be best for me.

it gives the G6 more space, and it hasn't corrupted yet.
 

TheNeck

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
366
Trophies
0
Location
Southern California
Website
Visit site
XP
299
Country
United States
Press the start button when booting your DS to format the G6 Real thru the DS. When to actual push the start button, i don't know exactly, I just keep on pushing the start button to bring up the format option.
 

imz

GBAtemp's vigilante
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Location
Gotham city
Website
Visit site
XP
306
Country
Ok so I downloaded touch the dead, didn't patch it or anything, tried it, it worked! So I downloaded mario kart again (game that was previously on my flash cart) and I'm getting this error! I'm guessing this is only happening to games that were previously on my flash cart, which is a real shame seeing as they were all my favourites
frown.gif
and also I found that all the cheats from the cheat.db in the system were in japanese? But I'm guessing that's something to do with the firmware
 

xJonny

...
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
1,394
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
184
Country
I know this sounds stupid but have you got soft-reset, cheats, slow-motion turned off because they may be stopping it from working?

Also, have you trimmed it or got a good dump?
 

imz

GBAtemp's vigilante
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Location
Gotham city
Website
Visit site
XP
306
Country
some more info, I was playing lego star wars: the complete saga, it was playing fine until i tried to save it, I got an error message saying 'The data could not be written. Turn off the power and reinsert the DS card.' And also when I try to boot worms: open warfare 2 I get a message that says 'Cannot access save data. Turn off the power and reinsert the DS card.' I now know that it is definitely to do with the save battery, anyone have any experience with this? Because most games don't even boot if they can't access the save data.

QUOTE said:
I know this sounds stupid but have you got soft-reset, cheats, slow-motion turned off because they may be stopping it from working?

Also, have you trimmed it or got a good dump?

Yes They are all turned off, no I haven't trimmed any of the roms, and I don't think it's anything to do with the roms because they were working fine until this occured, so it can't be that either.
 

xJonny

...
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
1,394
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
184
Country
I now recall that it happened to me but once I turned it off and on again a few times and did a little jiggerypokery (although it may have been a different matter), it worked so I'm afraid I can't help you.

It's probably faulty, I guess.
 

imz

GBAtemp's vigilante
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Location
Gotham city
Website
Visit site
XP
306
Country
I am really starting to get pissed off now, I haven't been able to fix this problem for days, and it's even worse now because not only have I just spent £37.99 on something that worked for a few weeks but my EZ flash 3 in 1 expansion just arrived today and I can't even save gba games. If someone asked me what my impressions about the G6 real are what am I supposed to say 'It's good.. but enjoy it while it lasts! Because that won't be long!' This isn't the first time I've had a problem with the real, it's been corrupted twice before, the amount these things cost they should be built to last.
 

xJonny

...
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
1,394
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
184
Country
I've had mine for some time yet, it has never had a problem, apart from when I kept pulling it out and putting it in the USB slot because I didnt have my card inserted into the reader properly, then I accidentally corrupted it after pushing the card in after I plugged the USB reader in.

But that was my fault, so I'm sort of happy.
 

imz

GBAtemp's vigilante
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
825
Trophies
0
Location
Gotham city
Website
Visit site
XP
306
Country
I tried the arm7 patch on worms 2 but to no avail, I didn't have many expectations for it either seeing as it's most likely a sytem problem, do G6 real's come with guarantee, or can I send it off to the company for a repair or replacement?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Panzer_Baboon @ Panzer_Baboon: Hey pals.